Fanart Friday (#4): The Star-Touched Queen + Watercolor and Digital Edit

Hey guys! Today I’ll talk a little about my process with this particular piece of work. I guess it’s basically to highlight how you never know where one can go when painting, or drawing, or creating anything in general. I made a lot of mistakes while doing this one, and learned a bunch of lessons throughout it all. 😀 So in the end, I thought I’d share a bit with you guys.

I absolutely adored The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, and you can see my review here. (I highly urge you to check it out on Goodreads too!) The beautiful imagery in the book immediately gave me a lot of ideas. The first picture I sketched and started a watercolor of was a memory tree. That was scrapped, but I might return to it digitally (more ideas are popping up as I type this). Instead, I turned to a starry sky. So a sketch was made with both Amar and Maya, as I always have to have my main ship in the picture.

*Scroll on top of the pictures to see additional comments!

If I had Copic markers, I would draw in the facial features and more details for the skin and clothes of the characters. Alas, I never find the time to get those. So I decided to make the edits digitally instead, which turned out pretty swell in the end too.

After doing all I can with the watercolor, I scanned it on my computer to make edits – a lot of them – on some paint programs using a Wacom Splash tablet.

Oddly enough, when I scanned the picture the lighter portions I painted came out a really sick yellow. And I didn’t realize it was there until I switched to my new PC, because the old one (which had Photoshop) has just weird lighting. So yeah, I worked with that stuff for the majority of the session. New tip I learned: to prevent wrinkles, tape the edges of the paper on a flat surface when watercoloring. That’ll probably be better for scanning too.

After coloring in the characters real quick, I switched to my new PC because the old one was making weird noises. I outlined a bit of the lineart, added text, made some finishing touches, and voila, finished product is finished.

artdivider

tstq fanart

Thanks for staying for the ride! The Star-Touched Queen comes out April 26 – less than a month away. 😀

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

21 thoughts on “Fanart Friday (#4): The Star-Touched Queen + Watercolor and Digital Edit

  1. Oooh this is soooo beautiful! Even though I haven’t read the book yet… ( I will when it comes out!!)

  2. Okay wow this is so beautiful<3 I love the colors and the picture, especially the moon. I haven't read this book, but I'd love to read it soon!

    1. Yes, adding those digital edits after scanning the watercolor was definitely a new process for me hehe. YOUR KIND WORDS ARE MAKING MY HEART MELT, gahh ❤ ❤ Hopefully I can do more of these as I create more art! (probably in the summer… Lol)

Leave a comment