Blogger Positivity Campaign: Letter to a Fictional Character

This is the Blogger Positivity Campaign, hosted by Jillian at Jillian’s Books, where a bunch of us bloggers are dedicated to spreading the good vibes around this blogosphere! Aila here, bringing this week’s prompt: “Letter to a Fictional Character that Inspired or Helped You!” This character is an oldy but goody – one of the classic ones of my generation that really helped my friends and I while growing up.

divider

Dear Percy Jackson:

I wasn’t going to read you at first, ya know.

It’s true! I remember in fifth grade my friend goes like, “Here, you might like this book,” and I went like, “Cool,” and left it in my room for two weeks. When it got overdue from the library, I decided to quickly read about you to kill time.

Honestly, I had already been an avid reader by that time. You didn’t really affect my love of reading. But what you did was introduce me to the Young Adult genre – and the awesome fandom that comes with it. Researching your fan art, fanfiction, and other stories beyond the pages became my priority. And from there, I found a list of similar books that would forever change my world.

I was never a Harry Potter fan. While some readers were shouting out spell names, I stuck to my Greek mythology (and hung out with the people who read both). Even so, your introduction was what influenced me to become the young adult I am today, and the friendships I made throughout it all. So thank you, Percy Jackson, for sticking with me through thick and thin, in my ever changing environment.

With lots of love,

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

One of the most amazing things about the PJO world was how I grew up while reading the characters grow (same can be said about HP). Magnus Chase is my age right now, and it accounts for so much relatability with these characters. I love them, and although Rick Riordan likes writing about gods, he’s pretty much one of the gods of writing.

divider 2

What character has shaped the way you are today? I’d love to hear about them!

15 thoughts on “Blogger Positivity Campaign: Letter to a Fictional Character

  1. I never read Percy Jackson but I love Greek mythology. My best friend is enthralled by the series though, and based on her stories and your letter I think I’m missing a lot XD

  2. This is such a lovely idea. I think some of the characters that have been inspired by are Hermione from HP, Cath from Fangirl, and Alison from Just One Day. Something about how these characters handled situations in their lives really made me want to make a difference in my life, and that’s a really beautiful thing. That’s probably one of the biggest reasons why I love reading- how they can inspire you and change how you decide to live your life.

  3. I stillll haven’t read ANYTHING by Rick Riordan???!!! I’ve been in this bookish community for a year and I have no idea how I got away with it.

  4. Love, love, love this post! I actually did mine to Annabeth – haha! xD But Percy Jackson is definitely one of the best characters ever. His sass levels are just too high. 😉 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

  5. I love PJO though I really wish I read it earlier. I feel like reading it at a later age (after the age of HP and other nice fantasy books) kinda lose the magic. But it’s a good story all the same! 🙂

  6. I only read The Lightening Thief (still reminding myself to finish the series!), but I was crazy obsessed with Greek mythology. And Roman/Norse/etc. I wasn’t a big Harry Potter fan either, around that time I was reading lots of Laura Ingalls haha 😂.

Leave a comment