Monthly Wrap-Up: It Was An O-KAY October

october-wrap-up

Hey guys! Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve done a monthly wrap-up. I feel so bad because I had this drafted in the beginning of the month but then I blinked and suddenly we’re in the middle of the month already. The last one I did was in May (whoa), but I’m glad to be back! Summer was just really chaotic and starting school was basically death. Now that I have a normal routine starting again, it’s been easier to get back in my blogging schedule.

wrapup1

Boy, am I tired! People may say “high school is the best time of your life” and how wonderful senior year is (Year 12), but I am EXHAUSTED. The IB admins at our school basically leave off our Extended Essay and Internal Assessments and TOK essay until the first semester of senior year so I’m just inundated with work. Waking up at 4-5 am is a norm for me now, and getting six hours of sleep is *two thumbs up*. So it’s probably not a surprise that I haven’t been reading or reviewing as much as I want to. Either way, I’ve been trying to schedule months in advance so I don’t need to worry so much.

Marching band season is finally over, so I have a lot more free time. I’m drum major (the conductor) and was really happy to see how far the band has grown. (At the same competition we got second to last place in last year, we got third this year.) It’s been a stressful but fun experience overall! Thankfully the lesser hours of concert band will probably leave me more room to study, sleep, and read. Huzzah!

wrapup2

  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff | Although this one had a slow start for me, I eventually got into the story after the first 100 pages and thoroughly enjoyed it! Still liked Illuminae more though. | 4 stars
  • Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen | Gorgeous, realistic fantasy setting with gritty characters and no romance. Definitely an underrated fantasy. | 4 stars
  • The Rogue’s Wager by Christi Caldwell | A typical historical romance that didn’t really stand out. There was a quirky heroine, but pretty predictable. | 3 stars
  • Summer Skin by Kirsty Eager | Feisty, feminist new adult story that everyone should read, with great messages on misogyny and social conflicts. I also adored the headstrong main character! | 4 stars
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer | Definitely a bittersweet fantasy telling the origins of the Queen of Hearts. Although filled with glorious descriptions of food and setting, the romance was weak. | 4 stars

On Happy Indulgence:

  • Kingdom of Ash and Briars by Holly Black Around three fairy tales meshed into one fantasy. A bit too cliche for me, but still ultimately enjoyable. | 3.5 stars
  • The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia | Had a lot of tropes (especially overused in romance contemporaries) but I still really liked it! An angsty read with character development clearly evident. | 4.5 stars
  • The Island by S Usher Evans | An indie book that is super underrated. I adored this series, and the books only get better! | 3.5 stars
  • Flashfall by Jenny Moyer | Adored this scifi/dystopian read. It was also really unique, with radioactive elements and digging in tunnels for a way out of labor. Featuring stubborn characters and the whispers of revolution, this is definitely not one to skip out on. | 4.5 stars
  • The Diabolic by SJ Kincaid | I was wary of the hype with this one, but I ended up really enjoying it! The beginning took some time to pick up but I couldn’t put it down afterwards. Full of action and deception, this book explores the many emotions of humans. | 4.5 stars

wrapup3

Some Fave Instagram Pictures of My Current Reads


Hope you guys have a great November!

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: It Was An O-KAY October

Leave a Reply

