Asian YA Recommendations: Happy Chinese New Year!

chinesenewyear

Happy Chinese New Year!

Today my family will be going out together (my brother’s mother-in-law is visiting from China too, so that’ll be exciting hehe) to celebrate Chinese New Year. Usually we make dumplings, give each other red envelopes, and celebrate with the Chinese community during this time of year. But this time we’re keeping it pretty close since it’s my brother’s mother-in-law’s first time in America and we don’t want to overwhelm her. In larger cities and communities, there would be big celebrations with dragon dancing, fire crackers, and opulent displays. So today, in celebration of this festive holiday, I give you a couple of YA books that have Asian characters or settings!

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

cnyrec1

Eon by Alison Goodman

cnyrec2

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

cnyrec3

Ink by Amanda Sun

cnyrec6

Serpentine by Cindy Pon

cnyrec7

The Girl From the Well by Rin Chupeco

cnyrec4

Hello, I Love You by Katie M Stout

cnyrec5

I hope you pick up one of these and discover the rich culture that Asia has to offer! In the meantime, I will be enjoying a hotpot ehehe.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

26 thoughts on “Asian YA Recommendations: Happy Chinese New Year!

  1. ASDFGHJKL: I CANT TELL YOU HOW MUCH I LOVEEE THIS!
    I haven’t read any of these, but Ink has been on my TBR for agesss! I didn’t know that Eon and Eona were about Asia – I’ll definitely have to check them out more in depth!
    But yeah, perfect timing for this post!
    Happy Chinese New Year to you! Gong Xi Fa Cai! 🙂

  2. Happy Chinese New Year! I’m Chinese too, and I can’t wait for all the delicious food and just being around everyone, except like you, we’re keeping it pretty lowkey this year (for us, it’s because of just life craziness in general). Under a Painted Sky has such a unique premise! I didn’t even know that there were Chinese people on the Oregon Trail? Definitely intriguing, and definitely something I want to check out 🙂

  3. Happy Chinese New Year! I haven’t actually read any of these books, which is so bad… Though I really want to read Stormdancer! I haven’t heard much of Eon, but your description pretty much has me sold. I think I will really enjoy a lot of these, so thank you for the recommendations!

    Denise | The Bibliolater

  4. Happy Chinese New Year! Eon was GREAT and I’m about to start Under A Painted Sky. I’ll DEFINITELY check all of these out. And hotpot is A++

  5. I have Serpentine and want to read it so bad!!! I need to make time. I also have Soundless, I got it from my secret sister and I can’t wait to read it, even though it’s gotten mixed reviews. Happy New Year and enjoy your time with your family!

  6. Happy Chinese New Year!! Thanks for sharing these books. I really want to read more Asian YA so I’m going to check some of these out now! Hope you had a good time celebrating.

  7. Happy Chinese New Year! What a great post! I haven’t heard of those but quite a few of them caught my interest and I’ll be looking into them, so thank you! Since I’m new to your blog, please excuse my ignorance as to what you’ve posted in the past,but I’m curious as to whether you’ve read Soundless by Richelle Mead? And if so, did you like it? Wishing you much happiness & good luck in this,the Year of the Monkey! 🙂

  8. Ahhh so many good stories here! I’m so glad Asian stories are getting a representation! I thought there were only a few or I may have just been looking less. Haha! I haven’t read any of these yet but I will get to them one day. Thank you for sharing these, Aila!

  9. I’ve only read a few of these and you’ve reminded me about a few series that I haven’t picked up! In particular, I need to pick up Eon, Under the Painted Sky and Kinslayer. So many wonderful books, I think the only one I’ve read here is Ink (and that one I had a few issues with, even though I loved the Japanese setting). Happy Chinese New Year Aila!

Leave a comment