Monthly Wrap-Up: What a Fab February

IMG_9850

HELLO MARCH! For some reason it’s still pretty chilly (well, as chilly as Florida can be haha) even though winter is over. Sorry for the semi-late monthly wrap-up! More details can be explained in the next section, but mainly I’ve been feeling like a bum because of a conference last weekend. NO WORRIES, because I have finally gotten back in the game and am commenting and drafting more posts as we speak! (or, as I type haha.) Without further ado, I give you One Way’s second wrap-up.

wrapup1

Okay so February was full of stress. I think my name is associated to stress, man. The other day I was saying in AP Lang how much I hate my life (but in the type of half-joking manner one does when one has tests and projects foisted upon one’s shoulders the period before) and my teacher goes “Don’t you say that every day?”

IT’S PRETTY BAD.

Luckily enough, I recently got an inspiration/motivation journal on sale from Michael’s to help me out on that. I’ve been lazy in writing it, but seeing it at least encourages me to be more positive.

On a fun note, I went to a Model UN conference last weekend, and am still recuperating from that. Basically we act as delegates to the UN and create resolutions for topics. So technically it’s still a lot of work, but fun work lol. We also met some Turkish students who were visiting America during the conference and they were interesting to talk to! My school won best delegation for the country of Cyprus (yay).

wrapup2

  •  A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro – A modern retelling of Sherlock Holmes, featuring his descendant Charlotte Holmes and her counterpart, Jamie Watson. The murder mystery is just intriguing from start to finish!
    4 stars
  • The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury – A freakin’ awesome retelling of Aladdin with a girl as the genie, a hot street rat, and a kickass princess. I seriously fell in love with not only the lovely atmosphere on this book, but the delightful characters as well. 
    5 stars
  • Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – This stellar conclusion to the Starbound trilogy was just all the amazingness wrapped up in a book. The story of the characters draw to a close as we finally confront the mysterious things that plague our characters.
    5 stars
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – Desert setting, hot djinn, mysterious foreign strangers and a fierce girl who can shoot like no other – what more can a reader ask for? Definitely not to be missed out on.
    5 stars
  • The Skylighter by Becky Wallace – The sequel of The Storyspinner, this book starts straight from where we left off in terms of action as the groups of characters, narrating with numerous POV’s, figure out how exactly to save the place they live in. I miss the characters already in this one.
    5 stars
  • The Forbidden Orchid by Sharon Biggs Waller – Elodie joins her father to China during the time of the Opium wars on the hunt for a famed orchid that will save her family. Along the way, we see some a sweet romance and friendship develop, all while Elodie discovers who she truly wants to be.
    4 stars
  • Riders by Veronica Rossi – Although this was fun and fast-paced, I had an odd disconnect with the characters and how immature they acted. Gideon almost dies and wakes up to realize that he become a reincarnation of War, one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse.
    3 stars

I also reviewed these books on Happy Indulgence:

  • Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan – Featuring an intricate world featuring a made-up language that highlights the art of language and fully-developed characters that you can’t help but root for, this book now has a solid favorites place on my bookshelf.
    5 stars
  • The Shadow Queen by CJ Redwine – A Snow White retelling with all the greatest aspects of fantasy put in one book! While it had cliche elements, they were executed so nicely that this reader didn’t even care. AND I WANT MORE.
    4 stars
  • Forbidden by Kimberley Little Griffith – While the romance in this book was heavy, I enjoyed it because of the lovable characters of Kadesh and Jayden. The Mesopotamian setting of Babylon also made it a delightful read.
    4 stars
  • Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie – The main character Sonya could be a trifle annoying at times, but at least the plot was intricate and quick enough to keep me reading.
    3 stars

wrapup3

Swoon Thursday

  • Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie – “You are not a curse.” His brows lifted in earnestness. “You are a gift,” he said softly. “You are my gift. A savior to me.””
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – “His breath vibrated through me until I couldn’t feel anything anymore except want. More than want. Need.”

Discussion

  • 5 Popular Descriptions in YA Literature – In which I regale the different types of character descriptions that are SO POPULAR in young adult books. It’s like people without those features don’t exist as main characters.

Other

  • Book Graphics Request – In which I ask you guys to send me some suggestions for my next graphic. The release date will be a surprise!

As you can see, this month was just GRAND in terms of books reviewed. I didn’t even realize I had so many 4-5 stars posted until I listed all of them! How are you guys doing for the past month?

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

23 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: What a Fab February

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Wow, you’ve read SO many 5 and 4-stars books this month, that’s awesome! I need to check those books out, and hm, my TBR is going to grow, once again… thanks to you :p
    I hope that March will be less stressful for you ❤ And your motivation/inspiration journal is SO pretty, I want the same one :p

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Thanks so much Marie ❤
      I'm so glad you like the journal! I got it on discount at Michael's, if you want to check it out.

      MUHAHAHA WE WILL DROWN TOGETHER IN OUR TBR's. But seriously, all the 4-5 star books were absolutely splendiferous! You should definitely check some of them out. 😀

      • Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

        I live in France, so I don’t think I’ll be able to go to that place, ahah, but I’ll check online if I can find something like that. I just love journals so much, but I don’t know why, I don’t use them that often. I love collecting them, haha :p
        YES WE WILL, and we will be HAPPY 😀 I will check them out, I think, I’ll let you know which ones I read 😀

      • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

        Definitely do that!! February was just such a joyous month of book releases.
        Ooh yeah, France is a little far-off lol. 😛 At least you have a nice collection of journals! I do appreciate the aesthetic hah.

  2. Tasya says:

    It seems like you had an amazing reading month, I mean, so many 4 and 5 stars books! And I hope you enjoyed MUN! I really enjoyed my experience, and even though it kind of took me by surprise. I’d love to join again one day!<3 It's cool to meet a lot of people my age who's passionate about the same issue and just try to make things better and solve the problem. I love it<3

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Me too Tasya! It’s awesome to see another MUN-er in the blogosphere! 😀 I love how everyone gets together to create resolutions for the problems in the world, too. Way to be do-ers, hehe.

      YES I REVIEWED SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS THIS MONTH. I hope your March will be wonderful!

  3. Elizabeth @ Book Yabber says:

    I love the quote on the front of that journal! I recently picked up journaling, and when I remember to do it, it’s great. I hope you find the time to journal and that it fills your life with happiness. I hope March will be less stressful for you.

  4. Cyra says:

    You read so many good books this month! I have pretty much all of them on my list and it’s nice to see that you liked all of them! That’s a really pretty journal you got! I hope it helps with the stress! Hope March rocks! 🙂

  5. Sarah Cone says:

    Gah, I’m sorry February was so rough on you(DAMN YOU,FEBRUARYYYY!) and I hope March brings you nothing but happyhappy joyjoy warm-fuzzy vibes.
    On the bright side, you had a superb month(as usual,dahling) blog-wise. There is literally *nothing I would change about your blog.
    Book-wise my February was just kinda..meh,(behold the dreaded reading slump! *insert diabolical theme music here*) except for a few rays of sunshine when I read Rebel of the Sands and The Forbidden Wish (SO MUCH LUUUVES!)
    *raises glass* So here’s to a super awesome 5 star March for eeeveryooone! CHEERS! 🙂

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Thanks so much for your PERFECT comments Sarah! ❤ I will endeavor to make March a MAGNIFICENT MONTH.

      OMG THOUGH I'M SO. GLAD. you enjoyed Rebel of the Sands and The Forbidden Wish! I can understand if you have a reading slump after reading those gems because they were SO. GOOD. 😛 I hope you get out of this slump as soon as possible though! Lot o' fun-looking books seem to be releasing in March, at least.

      *toasts* I gotta agree with you on this one – cheers!

  6. Adriyanna Zimmermann says:

    Ooh I love your new journal! 😍 I think I’ll be reading your review of Forbidden; I love reading about ancient Mesopotamia so just mentioning that has me interested! Review-wise you had a great month! I was only able to read three books last month so I have to pick up the slack this month haha.

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Three books is still amazing! Most of these reviews were scheduled quite a while ago, so technically I didn’t read much last month either lol.

      Ooh I really hope you pick up Forbidden though! I think you’ll really enjoy it if you’re interested in the Mesopotamian setting.

  7. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    You had such a fab February in terms of the books that you read Aila! Love the pics from the UN conference, it sounds tiring but like a fun and memorable weekend. I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN FROM THE STRESS. We can get through this! Hopefully March will be better!

Leave a Reply

