Book Review: The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (The Wrath and the Dawn #2)

23308084The Rose and the Dagger
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Series: The Wrath and the Dawn #2
Release Date: April 26, 2016
Publisher: GP Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Disclaimer: Will contain slight spoilers for the first book. Because if you haven’t picked up The Wrath and the Dawn yet, what are you doing?

“It was because they were two parts of a whole. He did not belong to her. And she did not belong to him. It was never about belonging to someone.
It was about belonging together.”

I held myself from writing this review for so long because for me, the book was close to perfect. (Which I know many people would disagree with, but I stand by my love for this book) Ahdieh continues on from where we left off in the previous book, with Khalid and Shazi separated. Rest assured that it does not last long, and of course this determined couple ends back together to plan how they will save the city.

The romance in the book was just so sigh-worthy. There are no words to describe how utterly content my heart felt when I got to the end, and how much of an impact all the characters had on me. They were written with such love and life that I couldn’t forget them, even if I tried. (And I tried.*)

Ahdieh writes so beautifully, but sometimes it got a bit too much for me. I would find myself skimming some of the flowery phrases to get to the action and dialogue. So while I enjoyed the heart-pounding descriptions and stirring metaphors, I can also see why some people would get annoyed at them. The character themselves have complexity and hidden depth, which only add to the story.

“But which of these two kings was the true villain of this story?
For a story was only as good as its villain.”

I really can’t say anything else but the fact that readers who enjoyed The Wrath and the Dawn will no doubt be satisfied by this sequel. I’m sorry if this is such an inarticulate review (I really feel as if concluding books that left you satisfied are the hardest to review), but know that this duology will hold a special place in my heart and shelves for a while. Flowery phrases and all.

*No, I didn’t try but I couldn’t help but add that Hamilton reference, hehe.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-5star

18 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (The Wrath and the Dawn #2)

  1. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book, but I still want to read this one to finish up the duology. I did have issues with the flowery prose in the first book, so I’m disappointed a little bit to here it’s a problem here too. Still, the romance sounds great! 🙂
    Lovely review, Aila!

    1. I can totally see where you’re coming from with the flowery prose. It’s wonderful in the beginning, but got so tiring later on. Even so, the story was amazinggg!
      I hope you like this one more than the first book. 😛 I know a couple of other people had problems with the first, but I think this ending was pretty great! (Including the fab romance) ❤

  2. I finished The Rose and the Dagger last night an your review pretty much matches my feelings. I have SOOOO many feels after this book and though TWATD made me feel like I’d never be satisfied, TRaTD was perfect. Awesome review!

  3. I haven’t read the sequel yet. And I should. It sounds interesting. The writing style was really what drew me in. It’s so beautiful. I wish I could write like that. BUT…I can barely write. Sooo.
    Interesting that it’s 5/5. Hm…sequels are rarely that good. Maybe I SHOULD check it out.

    1. Oh man Wren, THIS sequel was amazing to the amazingness. Like, I could not have imagined a more perfect ending. SO MUCH LOVE for these characters the and story! Definitely check this one out!

      Also, I believe you can write like that 😉

  4. I’ve heard nothing but glowing reviews for this, so I am so glad to hear you liked it too Aila. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

  5. I’m so glad that you loved this one! I actually enjoyed this one more than the first one and would love to reread it sometime. I definitely agree about the excessive flowery prose at times though. Great review, as always =)

  6. This sounds like such a worthwhile read! I don’t mind flowery proses just so long as it doesn’t interfere with the plot and the characters, I’m all good with it. 🙂 I like the cover too! SUPA CUTE!

    Awesome review, girl! ❤

  7. Happy you loved this one. I really liked book one but I just couldn’t find the same love for the book or couples in book 2. I seem to be in the minority though 🙂

Leave a comment