The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry Thomas Review | The Historical Mulan Retelling We Needed

44059557. sy475

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan
Author: Sherry Thomas
Release Date: September 10, 2019
Publisher: Tu Books
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & NobleBook Depository

Synopsis:

CHINA, 484 A.D.

A Warrior in Disguise
All her life, Mulan has trained for one purpose: to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight. If she prevails, she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier, and avenge her father, who was paralyzed in his own duel.

Then a messenger from the Emperor arrives, demanding that all families send one soldier to fight the Rouran invaders in the north. Mulan’s father cannot go. Her brother is just a child. So she ties up her hair, takes up her sword, and joins the army as a man.

A War for a Dynasty
Thanks to her martial arts skills, Mulan is chosen for an elite team under the command of the princeling–the royal duke’s son, who is also the handsomest man she’s ever seen. But the princeling has secrets of his own, which explode into Mulan’s life and shake up everything she knows. As they cross the Great Wall to face the enemy beyond, Mulan and the princeling must find a way to unwind their past, unmask a traitor, and uncover the plans for the Rouran invasion . . . before it’s too late.

Inspired by wuxia martial-arts dramas as well as the centuries-old ballad of Mulan, The Magnolia Sword is perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh, Marie Lu, or Kristin Cashore–a thrilling, romantic, and sharp-edged novel that lives up to its beloved heroine.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Check out my review on GoodReads over here!

“I am not just a girl – no woman is. And if Heaven has deposited me at this time and place, then I AM meant to deal with these problems, no matter their scale of consequence.”

The BALLAD OF HUA MULAN, made popular through the Disney animation, is something that resonates in most young Chinese-American’s hearts. I say that because I have grown up watching this movie, as well as learning the inconsistencies it gives. (And while there are historical inaccuracies, I honestly believe it’s not as problematic as what social media hypes it up to be.) And so this beloved tale, with the addition of classical wuxia elements, creates a lightly romantic, highly political and action-packed retelling from a Chinese author that, instead of glorified Hua Mulan, drew her as a skilled warrior who fought for the sake of duty, friendship, and honor.

Continue reading “The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry Thomas Review | The Historical Mulan Retelling We Needed”

Sherry Thomas – The Immortal Heights (The Elemental Trilogy #3)

17410991The Immortal Heights
Author: Sherry Thomas
Series: The Elemental Trilogy
Publisher: Balzer & Bray
Release Date: October 13, 2015
Get it here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository 

Synopsis:
In a pursuit that has spanned continents, Iolanthe, Titus, and their friends have always managed to remain one step ahead of the forces of Atlantis. But now the Bane, the monstrous tyrant who bestrides the entire mage world, has issued his ultimatum: Titus must hand over Iolanthe, or watch as his entire realm is destroyed in a deadly rampage. Running out of time and options, Iolanthe and Titus must act decisively to deliver a final blow to the Bane, ending his reign of terror for good.

However, getting to the Bane means accomplishing the impossible—finding a way to infiltrate his crypt in the deepest recesses of the most ferociously guarded fortress in Atlantis. And everything is only made more difficult when new prophecies come to light, foretelling a doomed effort….Iolanthe and Titus will put their love and their lives on the line. But will it be enough?

With The Immortal Heights, Sherry Thomas brings the acclaimed Elemental Trilogy to its breathtaking conclusion.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

This book throws us right in the middle of the action from the very first page. There’s a war going on, and Thomas doesn’t shield us from the breathtaking action between the characters. I’d recommend readers to pick up The Perilous Sea or at least skim the ending because this one plunges you right where it left off. The last time I reread the first two books was just last year so imagine my surprise when I start the book in the middle of a war.

Screw surprise, I was like, “What the – what?” left and right.

Once I got over the initial surprise, however, I was sucked into the story again. Iolanthe and Titus continued to win me over with their witty dialogue and epic love. Seriously,  throughout the whole trilogy my favorite parts were their interactions. You can tell how much they care for each other through their actions and decisions, even if it meant hurting the other. The prophecy about Titus’s death had me sweating like a sinner in church the whole time while reading the book, and despite the ill omen, Thomas wrote a very very satisfying conclusion to the character’s story. Every chapter was twisting and turning with an unpredictable plot where the characters are up against the Bane.

Let’s just say I loved everything about this book? The characters, the romance, the action, the plot, and obviously – THE ENDING! 110% satisfying and one that I’ll be rereading soon. If you’re a lover of fantasy and haven’t started on this trilogy: what are you waiting for?

One-Way-Or-An-Author-5star