Night of the Dragon by Julie Kagawa Review | Beautiful Ending to a Beautiful YA Fantasy Trilogy

41733219. sy475 Night of the Dragon
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: Shadow of the Fox #3
Release Date: March 31, 2020
Publisher: HQ Young Adult
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Check out my review on GoodReads over here!

I’ve been eagerly anticipating the finale to this trilogy since devouring book two, and I have to say, Kagawa delivers. It was easy to pick up the storyline again and this book eventually became an extended version of the final, epic battle between malicious yokai (monsters) and the safety of the world.

Quick note: If you haven’t read this series yet, I would recommend you checking out my review of book 1 over here. I gave it 4.5 stars and drew fan art! I also have a fan cast of the characters in my review of book 2 over here. This #ownvoices YA fantasy trilogy, inspired by Japanese folklore, follows a quick-witted kitsune on her quest to protect the dragon scroll that can release a dangerous wish into the world. Accompanying her is a super, diverse cast of characters that you fall in love with. Continue reading “Night of the Dragon by Julie Kagawa Review | Beautiful Ending to a Beautiful YA Fantasy Trilogy”