From Blood And Ash Review by Jennifer L Armentrout | Taking Paranormal Aspects To Another Level

52831200. sy475 From Blood and Ash
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Release Date: March 30, 2020
Publisher: Blue Box Press
Get it Here: Amazon

Synopsis:

Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.

A Maiden…

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty…

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom…

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Check out my review on GoodReads over here!

Imagine throwing in the most addictive parts of paranormal romance books and high fantasy… that baby would be this book, FROM BLOOD AND ASH. If you get get through the heavy monologues and repetitive thoughts of the first half of the book (kudos to Poppy’s first person POV), the book proves to be an entertaining read. But borrowing elements of your standard paranormal books out there make the ‘big twists’ underwhelming. Then again, who reads Armentrout when you’re NOT looking for a special snowflake and a broody love interest? (Also, characters noting the beauty of special snowflake and love interest at least more than 5 times in the book.)

Continue reading “From Blood And Ash Review by Jennifer L Armentrout | Taking Paranormal Aspects To Another Level”

Jennifer L Armentrout – Opposition

13644055Opposition
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Rating:

Summary:
Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can’t believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.

Happy Easter! And also, Happy I-finally-finished-this-series to me! It only took me a month and a half… (with some books in between.) It’s not that I didn’t like this series, but moreso that I had to be in a certain mood to read and enjoy the books. A romantic-alien kinda mood.

Continue reading “Jennifer L Armentrout – Opposition”

Jennifer L Armentrout – Origin (Lux #4)

13644052Origin
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux
Release Date: August 27, 2013
Rating:

Summary: 
Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

There’s a point where the level of cheesiness has reached its limit, and this book did it for me. Seriously, alien and mutant human children with crazy powers? Vegas wedding at the tender age of not-yet-19? Do people really obsess over this stuff?

But I can see why people like it. The search for more than the mundance of their lives, and hot aliens to boot. You honestly can’t get rid of the corniness when dealing with this subject, and I totally commend Jennifer L Armentrout for doing so, and getting so many people on board with it.

Continue reading “Jennifer L Armentrout – Origin (Lux #4)”

Jennifer L Armentrout – Opal (Lux #3)

imgOpal
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux
Release Date: December 11, 2012
Rating:

Summary:
After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

After reading the previous two books, I feel like I’ve read it all. I’m not sure what the hype about Jennifer L Armentrout’s writing is, because it’s not that big of a deal to me. The characters are quaint, and the romance is quite enjoyable. I’m not too big on paranormal romance, so if this is the best it can get then it won’t be a genre that I will be reading so much in the future.

Not saying the book is bad, but compared to the intricate world building in fantasy or the sympathetic characters in contemporary, a paranormal romance just lacks a lot. The romance is very cute and satisfying, but sometimes I’m wondering: is the only thing going in the book the romance and drama? Granted, as we progress through the series we learn more about the Luxen, and I do applaud Armentrout’s originality on that aspect. But being a creative idea doesn’t make it less… cheesy than a paranormal romance with, say, vampires or werewolves.

This is definitely a just-me problem, as most people I know enjoy the books anyway. I’m all about that cliché life too when I’m in the mood, but:
”’No. You don’t get it.’ He turned to me, furious. ‘This isn’t a paranormal fantasy or whatever the hell it is you read. There is no set plot or clear idea of where any of this is going. The enemies aren’t obvious. There are no guaranteed happy endings and you – ‘ He lowered his head so we were eye level. ‘You are not a superhero, no matter what the hell you can do.’”
No Daemon, what you said was exactly what the book is.

Kudos to Armentrout for that cliffhanger ending, although I can’t say it was unexpected. (It was quite, quite expected in my case.) Her writing in the books is quite… average for me. The vocabulary is very simple and the paragraphs are easy to read, which allow me to finish the books quite quickly. Other than that, nothing really makes it stand out. I’m not sure why everyone loves it but at least I can say I’ve experienced it now haha.

Well, the mysteries of the Luxen are unfurling while Daemon and Katy become entangled in a super lovey-dovey relationship with everyone else in the background. Did I mention how dumb the mom is? Katy’s mom is very ignorant and oblivious to the things going around her and I’m wondering: is this an American mom mentality or is it just me?

Rating: 3.5/5

Jennifer L Armentrout – Onyx (Lux #2)

imgOnyx
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux
Release Date: August 15, 2012
Summary:
Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Still on this series! (Still hating the covers…) I think I’ll read one book from this series every week. That’ll take me another month to finish it, and I can cross it off my to-read pile! I really think the second installment brought a lot of material into the series. We find out a lot more about the Lux themselves and who the bad people are.

Continue reading “Jennifer L Armentrout – Onyx (Lux #2)”

Jennifer L. Armentrout – Obsidian (Lux #1)

imgObsidian
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux
Release Date: November 1, 2011
Summary:
Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

The only other paranormal romance for YA I’ve read is Twilight, before the movie came out. I didn’t necessarily hate it, but I just remember cringing so many times while reading it. Thankfully, I didn’t cringe as much with this book.
I have to admit, the cover is SUCH a turn off. I’m keeping this in my eReader unless they publish a new cover, because I’m not sure I’d like to see these model’s faces on my bookshelf. Who decided that having this cover was a good marketing strategy? It’s not interesting at all. In fact, all the covers in this series are so unattractive. I’m going to be honest, I do indeed judge a book by its cover many times (I mean this is the worst it can get right? RIGHT?) and the only reason why I’m reading this is because of the glowing reviews. So here goes.

Continue reading “Jennifer L. Armentrout – Obsidian (Lux #1)”