Night of the Dragon by Julie Kagawa Review | Beautiful Ending to a Beautiful YA Fantasy Trilogy

41733219. sy475 Night of the Dragon
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: Shadow of the Fox #3
Release Date: March 31, 2020
Publisher: HQ Young Adult
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Check out my review on GoodReads over here!

I’ve been eagerly anticipating the finale to this trilogy since devouring book two, and I have to say, Kagawa delivers. It was easy to pick up the storyline again and this book eventually became an extended version of the final, epic battle between malicious yokai (monsters) and the safety of the world.

Quick note: If you haven’t read this series yet, I would recommend you checking out my review of book 1 over here. I gave it 4.5 stars and drew fan art! I also have a fan cast of the characters in my review of book 2 over here. This #ownvoices YA fantasy trilogy, inspired by Japanese folklore, follows a quick-witted kitsune on her quest to protect the dragon scroll that can release a dangerous wish into the world. Accompanying her is a super, diverse cast of characters that you fall in love with.

At the risk of too many spoilers, NIGHT OF THE DRAGON follows directly after book 2 and delves the cast of characters headfirst into danger and battle. Secrets are exposed about Yumiko’s heritage, Okame has to deal with his soul being shared with a demon general, and we’re prepping for the summoning of the Great Kami Dragon, who will grant the one wish of the person who summons him. There’s a long list of obstacles the characters go through, and the book reads like an extended final battle. While this means constant action, it’s a lot less character-focused than previous books as readers rush to the finishing line. Kagawa does not pull punches with the emotions near the end as sacrifices are made, though. There’s not much I can add about the storyline, except that it acts as a thrilling conclusion to the series, and a well-loved one in my heart!

Definitely consider picking up this fantasy trilogy for a fantastic adventure that will take you back to the days of anime classics like Inuyasha and Demon Slayer!

One-Way-Or-An-Author-4star

4 thoughts on “Night of the Dragon by Julie Kagawa Review | Beautiful Ending to a Beautiful YA Fantasy Trilogy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s