#AsianLitBingo TBR and Links

Hi guys! I’m extremely excited to post my TBR for #AsianLitBingo, which was founded by Shenwei @ Reading As I Am. This was all their awesome idea, but I – and a couple of other Asian bloggers – have joined onboard to help out! Suffice it to say, this is an amazing opportunity to add more Asian books, especially with #ownvoices representation, on my TBR and increase their exposure in general to the blogging community. The month will also be full of interviews, giveaways, blog posts, and a fun Twitter chat at the very end. You should definitely consider joining!

Rules:

  • Book must have an Asian main character (can be one of several main characters) and be by an Asian author to qualify. It does not have to be #ownvoices, but #ownvoices is strongly encouraged.
  • Book can be a novel, short story collection, or comic book/graphic novel.
  • Book must be read during May 1st through May 31st to qualify.
  • Review link-up will close end of June 1st at midnight PDT. The extra margin is to give people the opportunity to write up a review for a book they might have finished late May 31st. We’ll follow the honor system assuming you didn’t read the book on June 1st.

Shenwei’s masterpost has all the information you need to get started, including the amazing prizes that this challenge will have. You can find it here!

AsianLitBingoCard

Shout out to Aentee @ Read At Midnight for the stunning graphics!

The row I’m doing is the middle across, but every time I look at the list of recommended books, I keep finding ones I want to add to my TBR. You can find this list here! (True feels bad is when I have a book that qualifies but I didn’t read it in the month of May. The review will be up tomorrow though!) I’ll first put the 5 I want to do for Bingo, and then the other random tidbits that I added on because I just want to read them.

SFF with Asian MC

Want by Cindy Pon

I’m so lucky to have an ARC of this, and I am absolutely ecstatic to start it. I enjoyed Cindy Pon’s previous fantasy book Serpentine and I think the sci-fi setting will be even more exciting.

Historical Fiction with Asian MC

Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

I’ve had this book for a while, but I just haven’t had the chance to pick it up. I’ve read Stacey Lee’s other books though (The Secret Of A Heart Note and Outrun the Moon) and I absolutely loved them. I have no doubt that I’ll enjoy this one as well.

Free Space

I’m actually not sure what to put for this one… YET. To make it a line I’ll probably mix and match from the other spaces I’m planning on filling out.

Retelling with Asian MC

Prophecy by Ellen Oh

I had no clue that this was a retelling? That’s great to hear though, because I still haven’t read it and by all accounts it’s a fantasy that’s been on my radar for almost years now. Yay to reading backlist books!

Contemporary with Asian MC

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Yup, I’m rereading this one. I adore the characters and the plot and pretty much everything, so this is the perfect opportunity to relive them. (Is this influenced by the large amount of Tollywood/Bollywood movies my friends and I have been watching? Perhaps.)

So that’ll be 5 in a row! But I also have more I’m planning to pick up…

When Michael Met Mina by Randa Abdel-Fattah

West Asian MC | Asian Muslim MC | Asian Refugee MC

My co-bloggers over at Happy Indulgence loved this OZYA book, so of course I have to pick it up! It helps that I have a copy too on my hands (Thanks Jenna @ Reading With Jenna!), and have been planning to pick it up.

I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

East Asian MC

I’m rereading this because it was freaking adorable and made me giggle all the giggles. Definitely a book I’ll need during the mundane days of exam season, and between studying.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

South Asian MC

I’ve been meaning to read this book since I read A Thousand Splendid Suns by the same author (I believe it’s like a companion sequel?). Anyways, I really liked it so I bought The Kite Runner immediately afterwards but totally forgot about it until now.

Not Your Sidekick by CB Lee

Multiracial/Multiethnic Asian MC | Asian Superhero MC | Southeast Asian MC | Queer Romance with Asian MC

I’ve heard nothing but great things for Not Your Sidekick, so heck yeah am I adding it to the list. I actually just got it on Kindle before this chat so it’s perfect timing.

Freedom Swimmer by Wai Chim

Asian Immigrant MC 

Another book gifted by my amazing co-blogger that is perfect for this month! I haven’t read much of this except for Jeann’s super positive review, but that’s enough for me to give it a go. What really interests me is that it covers immigrants during Mao’s reign in China, which coincides with my dad and grandpa’s experiences that I grew up hearing about.

Possible books for free space: The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana and The Secret Science of Magic by Melissa Keil.

A lot of these can actually fit under more than one category so I might just mix and match, depending on what I end up reading and reviewing. My reading schedule is an absolute mess, especially since it’s exam season, as well as close to graduation (prom was actually last night!). Either way, I’m hoping to get at least one bingo. Links to the reviews will be posted here!

What are you guys’s TBR’s for this bingo? You should definitely consider joining! Have you read any of these books and liked them? I’d love to know!

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

17 thoughts on “#AsianLitBingo TBR and Links

  1. Wendy says:

    SO MANY GOOD BOOKS here Aila! Yay for Under a Painted Sky and oooh great to hear you enjoyed Outrun the Moon – it’s my all-time favourite book and I wish more people would read it. Keen to hear your thoughts on Want and When Dimple Met Rishi, they’re both on my TBR 😀 Happy reading and good luck with the challenge!

  2. kozbisa says:

    When Dimple Met Rishi is one of my favorite books so far this year. I liked I Believe in a Thing Called Love too. The relationship between Desi and her dad was the best. I have been wanting to read a Stacy Lee and Cindy Pon book, since I have heard good things. Awesome job with this challenge.
    Sam @ WLABB

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      ALL THE LOVE TO BOTH THOSE BOOKS. Agreed though, Desi’s father was the absolute cutest and I could low key see some of my own mom in him as well. I really recommend Stacey Lee and Cindy Pon books! They’re really underrated authors, but write so well. 😀

  3. tasya @ the literary huntress says:

    Good luck with the readathon Aila! I wish I could participate but finals calling haha! I’ve heard amazing things about Kite Runner, but I’m scared to read it because the topic. I hope you’ll share your thoughts about if after you read it.

  4. Cyn @ Bookmunchies says:

    Good luck with the bingo!! There’s definitely a few books on your list I’m interested in checking out. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them!

  5. Morgan @ The Bookish Beagle says:

    I love your blog name (and graphics), it’s so clever!! I’m dying to read When Dimple Met Rishi and I Believe In a Thing Called Love! I really loved The Secret of A Heart Note by Stacy Lee (maybe for your free space?) so I definitely want to check out her other books, esp since I love hist fic. Good luck with your bingo squares!

  6. Adriyanna Zimmermann says:

    Prophecy is so good, I hope you like it! I’m going to try and read the sequel Warrior this month, it’s such a great but underrated series. I’ve been thinking about joining this reading challenge, it sounds really fun.

Leave a Reply

