Be On The Lookout! | Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

be-on-the-lookout

Be On the Lookout! is a feature highlighting special books that I’m trying to convince people to preorder, add to their TBR, or just be on the lookout for. It’s mainly a way for me to fangirl about the merits of a book outside a review, and hopefully make more readers aware of books that are not to be missed!

If you like comic conventions, TV shows, video games, anime and manga, or any other fandom-related subjects, then don’t miss out on this one. Queens of Geek hits bookstores on March 14, 2017 under SwoonReads, and it’s a delightful combination of charming and inspiring. There were so many moments where my heart was thoroughly tugged – be it with empathy or happiness.

One of my favorite parts of this book is that it takes place in a convention setting, with extremely relatable characters. Even though it’s in the span of only a couple of days, the characters all have history that are discussed, which make their relationship progression quite believable. I think the thing that resonates the most with me for this book is just how down-to-earth Charlie and Taylor’s narratives are. Every time Taylor posted something on Tumblr, I could see myself posting a reflection or rant or comment to the interwebs through Tumblr as well. Seeing the characters fangirl/boy over beloved shows was amazing to see, as well as the course of emotions that the characters go through in the story – from hurt to excitement to hope, every one of them left a mark in my own emotions.

28245707When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

 

queens-of-geek-botl

Why Should You Be On The Lookout?

This Could Be You Or Me

The incredible, diverse cast of this story makes it extremely relatable. I’m looking as I type this post at the bookstore, and I see people of all ages, cultures, and experiences. The same goes for the characters in Queens of Geek, which features three best friends who come from Australia to attend SupaCon, a convention in USA. Wilde takes all the unlikable YA contemporary stereotypes and throws them out the window. There is no “mean unlikable” girl, and even the boy that broke Charlie’s heart in the past has more to his character than just “douchebaggery.” Charlie notes upon the word “slut-shaming,” while Taylor addresses body-shaming. We explore Charlie’s old toxic relationship, and characters realizing how far they’ve grown. Oh, and to highlight the diverse characters I’ve drawn above:

Jamie:

  • Latino
  • Flourishing photographer
  • Patient, compassionate, comic-lover

Taylor:

  • Has social anxiety and autism (Asperger’s)
  • So supportive, with a quiet strength
  • Master cosplayer as well

Charlie:

  • Chinese, bisexual
  • Vlogger and starred in a recently-popular indie film
  • Social and open, but also has a tender heart

Alyssa:

  • Black, lesbian
  • Super star vlogger/celebrity
  • Extremely down-to-earth despite celebrity status

Wonderful Exploration Of Mental Illness

As Taylor, one of the narrators, has anxiety, we get to see a close-up of her thoughts on anxiety. (As well as later on when she meets an artist who has Asperger’s, like she does.) Wilde does an amazing job on relating to readers what having a panic attack feels like, as well as shutting down other preconceptions readers may have of it. Taylor’s voice was just so easy to connect with, and my heart really went out for her.

Cute Romances

And to top it off, two adorable, burgeoning romances that will give you all the light and fluffy feels! Seriously, the ships are too adorable. Also, these characters are definitely #friendshipgoals.

Empowering and Inspiring

After finishing the last page, the first word that came up was “empowering.” There were so many positive messages throughout the story that you can’t help but feel inspired after finishing it. It’s sex-positive, body-positive, relationship-positive, and so much more. There are issues that Wilde discusses that are extremely relevant to teens today – from figuring out your sexuality to being judged by body size – that will resonate with readers. Through Taylor and Charlie’s narrative, readers will draw upon a source of strength and hope as they relate to the characters’ experiences back to their own life.

abouttheauthor

I’m a genius, billionaire, playboy, philanthropist…

Oh, wait. That’s Iron Man.

Damn.

I wish I was Iron Man.

I’m a writer, geek and fangirl with a penchant for coffee, books and pugs. I write YA stories about zombies (AS THEY RISE), witches (ECHO OF THE WITCH) and fangirls (QUEENS OF GEEK).

My debut series, THE EVA SERIES, reached over three million reads online and became an Amazon bestseller.

The first book in my paranormal series, ECHO OF THE WITCH, was published by Limitless Publishing in 2016.

My YA geeky contemporary romance, QUEENS OF GEEK, is being published by Swoon Reads/Macmillan in March 2017.

When I’m not writing, I love binge-watching my fave shows on Netflix, eating pizza, traveling to far away places and going to conventions in Marty McFly cosplay.

I live in a sunny beachside town in Australia with my husband and our cheeky pug, Heisenberg.

I’m a twitter addict, so if you want to chat about my stories or geek out about the latest ep of The Walking Dead, Supernatural or Jessica Jones, tweet me.

LINKS

Author Website | Twitter

 Add to Goodreads | Preorder on Amazon

21 thoughts on “Be On The Lookout! | Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

  1. Veronika @ The Regal Critiques says:

    I haven’t really been into Contemporary lately, but this one sounds fantastic! I love how diverse the cast is, plus I heard nothing but wonderful things about it, so far, so I’m super-hopeful! Also, the ships and friendships, aka the two bestest things in books, are praised by literally everyone whose review I’ve read.

    Amazing review! 🙂

    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

  2. Marie says:

    That book sounds REALLY good, I just added it to my TBR! I love how you could relate to the characters and how diverse they are, and especially how realistic their relationship, and them, felt, even if the book just takes place in the span of a few days. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  3. Alyssa Susanna (The Eater of Books!) says:

    I love this feature! I actually hadn’t even heard of this book (oops?). Well actually that might not be surprising because I’m not really into books featuring video games, TV, comics, manga etc., because I’m not really into those things. *boring Alyssa is boring* It’s cool that one of the characters’ names is Alyssa – you don’t see that very often. I’m glad you loved this book, Aila!

    Have a lovely weekend. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      HAHA, Alyssa you’re not boring. Just the fact that you read books/own a blog about it makes you exciting and an awesome person to interact with!

      I’m glad I could bring this book to your attention at least. 😛 The video games/TV/comics/fandom parts of this book were great, but I think the messages about self-love and empowerment were the highlights of the story in the end. 😀

  4. Shanti says:

    I’ve been hearing a bit about this one too. It sound really cool. I’ve never been to a geeky convention, but I would love to (I think) And I love diverse books, so I will definitely keep an eye out for this one!

Leave a Reply

