ARC Review: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Daughter of the Pirate King
Author: Tricia Levenseller
Series: First book
Release Date: February 28, 2016
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:

A 17-year-old pirate captain intentionally allows herself to get captured by enemy pirates in this thrilling YA adventure.

If you want something done right . . .

When the ruthless pirate king learns of a legendary treasure map hidden on an enemy ship, his daughter, Alosa, knows there’s only one pirate for the job—herself. Leaving behind her beloved ship and crew, Alosa deliberately facilitates her own kidnapping to ensure her passage on the ship, confident in her ability to overcome any obstacle. After all, who’s going to suspect a seventeen-year-old girl locked in a cell? Then she meets the (surprisingly perceptive and unfairly attractive) first mate, Riden, who is charged with finding out all her secrets. Now it’s down to a battle of wits and will . . . . Can Alosa find the map and escape before Riden figures out her plan?

Debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Are you ready to go on an adventure with the daughter of the pirate king? She may be a looker, but she’s also highly skilled in combat and manipulation. She can be crass yet has class. She’s ready to do whatever she needs to do to get what she wants. And best of all, we’re reading from her first person narration in this quick and spicy read. Daughter of the Pirate King is extremely fun, has cool twists, and a scorching romance featuring pirates that have no mercy. I absolutely adored reading from Alosa’s point of view. She was a super refreshing character who has an armor of steel and yet is vulnerable in some places. It only takes a cunning pirate to poke at those spots.

We start this story with the capture of Alosa’s temporary ship. Her mission? To infiltrate the enemy ship and steal a secret map that will lead her father (the Pirate King) to the Island of Sirens. Rad, right? Alosa has to act biddable and hide her kickass-ery while she tries to find the map that Draxen, the captain, has hiding somewhere. It would be pretty easy, if only the first-mate (and brother of captain) Riden weren’t so perceptive at figuring her out. But don’t worry, she’s not stupid! Alosa is a master at manipulation and twisting things. The dialogue between her and the other pirates is absolutely hilarious to read. I really adore her character! She can be snarky, and yet caring. She’s super strong mentally and physically, but has secrets that leave her weak and open. Every time we peeled a layer from her character, I liked her more and more.

“‘Let’s get one thing straight, Alosa. You are my prisoner. While it appears you’ve learned a thing or two from growing up as the daughter of the pirate king, the fact remains that you will be the only woman on a ship full of cutthroats, thieves, and blackhearts who haven’t made port in a good long while. Do you know what that means?’
I spit again, trying to get the taste of blood out of my mouth. ‘It means your men haven’t been to a whorehouse recently.’”

Riden is a character that I would have liked to see more exploration on. We get to learn quite a lot of his past, and what he had to go through while enduring the scorn of his father, the previous captain of the ship. Basically he and Alosa descend from three of the main pirate families who all have a piece of the map to the Island of Sirens, where treasure lays. Alosa is tasked by her father to steal Draxen’s part of the map, and failure isn’t an option for her. Although Alosa is a very strong and brave character, you can’t help but feel sympathy for her when she describes her dangerous childhood where she had to fend for herself. Levenseller did a great job in developing her character – especially that twist we find out in the latter half of the book! Way to bring spice to the action.

daughter-of-the-pirate-king

“Because I won’t fail. I can only imagine what my father would do to me if I did. But I’m not afraid. I’m doing this not only for my father but also because I want to. Because I’m a good pirate and the hunt is thrilling.”

There’s so much packed in this fast-paced story, I found myself finishing within hours! The romance is soooo sweet. It happens really naturally – not too fast and not too slow. Riden and Alosa are enemies, yes, but that doesn’t stop them from basically combusting every time they see each other. Their banter is off-the-charts cute and they’re both too smart to let the other get the upper hand. Riden is actually pretty compassionate for a pirate, which is seen as he provides a foil against his avarice brother, the captain. I’m excited to see what else is in this store for this developing relationship!

“I can feel Riden’s breath in my face. He’s so close and so angry, I almost want to laugh.
‘No it wasn’t,’ he insists.
Then he’s kissing me.
What the – I misread where that was going.”

Readers looking for blood will also be super satisfied. There is a lot of action and bloodthirst and no mercy throughout it all. We see pirates getting killed in the first chapter even! Alosa constantly proves herself in the book, and I loved seeing many more female pirates in her ship. There’s also an interesting storyline about sirens that really enhances the plot. Being just 300 pages, this book was a fairly quick read – but every page was worth it.

“‘I am me because I choose to be me. I am what I want. Some people say you have to find yourself. Not I. I believe we create ourselves to be what we want. Any aspect of ourselves that we do not like can be altered if we make an effort.”

Packed with action, revelations, and the romance of being in the seas (as well as the combustible romance between characters), Daughter of the Pirate King brings a refreshing world which will surely satisfy a reader’s thirst for danger and adventure. There are so many awesome elements that Levenseller introduces such as kickass female pirates and a mysterious map, as well as characterizations that I can’t wait to expand on in the following book. Fantasy fans really need to pick this one up, and readers in general looking for an adrenaline-fueled read should check this one out!

One-Way-Or-An-Author-4star

24 thoughts on “ARC Review: Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

  1. Amber Elise @ Du Livre says:

    For some reason I had it in my mind that this was a MG read. It sounds super fun and I’m on a pirate kick so this is the only natural follow-up. ALSO I love a book that just grabs your attention until you HAVE TO finish it! Thanks for your review Aila!

  2. Book Swoon says:

    You had me with “Daughter of the Pirate King is extremely fun, has cool twists, and a scorching romance featuring pirates that have no mercy.” Plus, all that banter… I’m picking this up for review and it sounds so fun and great for a Valentines read 🙂

  3. Reading Tounwind says:

    I have heard great things about this book! I need to read it asap! I love the idea that the romance came on naturally that is always good to read. Also, I love a fast paced book with a lot of action I feel it just makes me want to read more! Great review!

  4. Heidi says:

    I haven’t seen this one before, but it sure does sound fun. I like the whole pirate theme, a female MC who is a pirate and the hilarious banter. Yes, please.

  5. Cyn @ Bookmunchies says:

    I’ve been thinking of picking this up, and it definitely sounds like I need to! Because yes to banter, action and no mercy! Glad this was such an awesome read for you, Aila! You have me intrigued! Lovely review (:

  6. Alyssa Susanna (The Eater of Books!) says:

    YAYAYAYAY! I’m glad you enjoyed this book! I personally enjoyed it more than I thought I would – meaning, I knew I would enjoy it, but I really, really liked it. I think it was the adventurous nature of this story that made me fall in love with it – a lot of YA books are gloom and doom types of adventure novels (nothing wrong with that!), but this one was FUN adventure. 😀 I can’t wait to read book two!

    Wonderful review, Aila. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      I’m happy to hear you enjoyed it more than you thought it would Alyssa! I agree – there definitely should be more fun, exhilarating and overall light fantasies like this one out there in YA. There are sooo many questions I can’t wait to get answered in book two. 😀

Leave a Reply

