Where Do You Put Your Book Swag? An Organized Solution To This Answer!

swag-binder

Binder –
noun. A cover for holding loose sheets of paper, magazines, etc., together.

I use a binder to hold all my swag.

Here’s a list of reasons why it’s extremely efficient, orderly, and easy-on-the-eyes:

  • All your swag is in one place.
  • Binders take much less room than boxes or containers.
  • You can make it like a scrapbook, bringing in aesthetics to enhance these pieces of swag.
  • It’s easy and super fun to decorate! Bring out your artistic elements, guys.
  • You can organize it in however way you want: genre, author, color – it’s all there.
  • It won’t be attacked by pets or kids, as they’re safe and displayed.

How Do I Organize My Own Binders?

I have three binders: contemporary books, sci-fi/fantasy books, and miscellaneous posters and swag such as buttons and stickers that I haven’t organized yet.

In these pictures, I’ve separated each page by book (as you can see). I like to find cute elements that match each book’s theme to enhance the pages. If I can’t find anything since I’m a bit lazy to go out and get scrapbooking supplies, I usually just fill in with color or drawings. For The Crown’s Game pages, I used a travel brochure of a cathedral in Russia that I got when visiting it a few years back. The Star Touched Queen page has doilies and stars as its decoration.

A lot of people have wondered how exactly I put these pieces of swag on. Glue, tape, staples? I mainly use minimal amounts of tape so it’s rather easy to peel off if I ever feel the need. For things like character cards like the above pages for Burning Glass and Ruined, I cut a piece of a plastic bag out and tape it onto the page so it’s easy to grab the cards whenever I want to without damaging the backs with tape and glue. Surprisingly, a decent amount of posters can fit into these 8 x 11 inch pages, whether it’s the full poster or folded in half. I’m not allowed to decorate my room with posters, so it makes for a good alternative for storage!

By author? Book? Series? Genre? The great thing about this way of organization is that you can customize it to your content. I try to go by book, but sometimes it’s hard when I only have only one bookmark or sticker. At that point, I at least try to go by author. If that’s  not possible, I put it in my miscellaneous third binder. The bottom right picture with pins and stickers is a page from that one! I used my brother’s old Yu-Gi-Oh card holders to put these small little knick-knacks in, which coincidentally fits. There are also other shapes of plastic sheets such as postcard sizes that you can use if you don’t feel like going through all the work of taping the cards and booksmarks and such on pages.

In the end, the choice is all up to you. Want to go by color? Totally cool. Want to just put the swag in one place randomly? Also chill. The main part in my opinion is having it organized and displayed in a portable container. I used to use a box, and had to rifle through everything to find the piece of swag I’m looking for. Now that I’ve used the binder, I’m never going back. (Haha I sound like a salesperson.)

I hope this has helped a bit, and feel free to comment with any questions or points of clarification! Let me know if you have or are planning to start a swag binder because I would love to see.

Happy reading!

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

39 thoughts on “Where Do You Put Your Book Swag? An Organized Solution To This Answer!

  1. Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms says:

    Woah, Aila! I’m super jealous. That looks gorgeous and it’s a great idea! I have plenty of binders around my home, so I’m going to have to bookmark this page and do this!

  2. Victoria says:

    This is such a good idea, I’d never thought of that! Unfortunately I don’t have enough to use it haha, but I could definitely change it around for other stuff 🙂

  3. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    WOAH AILA. You’re like, a goddess – scheduling months ahead, organized binders — GIRL.
    I’ve never received swag (the woes of being in New Zealand) but if I did, this would be wonderful advice. If anyone ever asked me how to organize their swag, I will throw this blog post at them and be like READ IT.

  4. Bee says:

    This is such a cool creative idea to store/display swag! I’ve personally been trying to think of a new way to store my own swag instead of just keeping it in a drawer XD what a great way to stay organized! I love this idea, I think I’ll be making my own binder now, thank you for the lovely post and inspiration! 🙂

  5. Topaz says:

    Oh, I absolutely love this solution for displaying bookish swag – I must admit I’ve got all my swag jumbled in a completely disorganised box & shoved onto my bookshelf, but this looks so much easier on the eyes & just overall beautiful. I use binders all the time for various writerly & school endeavours, so I’m not quite sure why I haven’t thought of this yet. I’m so glad you’ve shared it with us, though; I am off to the stationary store today to pick up my own binders & spend a glorious afternoon organising my collection ❤

    Topaz (Six Impossible Things)

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Ahh I hope you got some lovely binders! I’m so glad I could bring this idea up; feel free to share the end result with me! I’ve found the binders way more aesthetically pleasing than putting everything in one big old box with no semblance of organization 😛

  6. Leslie/ Gonzalez says:

    This is a great idea! I love scrapbooking so it’s perfect for me. I loved your pics and am so jealous of all your swag! 😛

  7. Lois says:

    This is such a great idea. It’s so crafty and practical. I never thought of using a binder before but I love scrapbooking and this is basically just the bookish version of it. I’ll definitely have to give it a go sometime. 😀

Leave a Reply

