Monthly Wrap-Up: Mayhem in May!

maywrapup

May was pretty busy, in regards to book releases and finals in school! So many amazing books came out in May, and now we’re looking forward to the summer reads that you just want to savor under the sun (well, at least I am). I feel like this was one of the longest months of my life… Because, well, loads of exams happening.

wrapup1

I’m so excited that the end of school is near! The beginning of June also marks the month that ALA will happen, which is just *bounces around energetically*. Over the summer I’ll probably be looking at colleges and starting applications, which will be simultaneously interesting and busy. I’ll be going to China to visit my dad and family on July 1 as well, so I might have to go on a semi-hiatus around that time too. 🙂 We’ll see!

wrapup2

  • The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead – I actually enjoyed this pseudo-historical fantasy a lot! (Well, much more than her previous book at least.) It features a character who goes through deception to gain her independence. The romance was oh so sweet and the plot kept me hooked until the end.
    4 stars
  • The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – Just an amazing conclusion to a heartening trilogy. Well, I had some complaints about the first couple hundred pages though.
    4 stars
  • Relentless by Tera Lynn Childs and Tracy Deebs – A solid sequel to a really fun series that features a cast of quirky characters! I like the way it concluded the their story and the characters who realize that being a “hero” or “villain” doesn’t necessarily make someone evil.
    4 stars
  • Invaded by Melissa Landers – A bit of a boring sequel to the Alienated trilogy, but enjoyable nonetheless. I especially can’t wait for the last book.
    3 stars
  • The Paper Magician Trilogy by Charlie N Holmberg – Magical and enchanting, I fell in love with the merits of paper folding with this series. I liked the trilogy in general, but didn’t exactly go head-over-heels in love with it.
    3 stars all the way
  • Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee – Just an unforgettable historical YA set in San Francisco where the headstrong main character goes against both racism and sexism to reach her goal of giving her family security and safety.
    5 stars

I also reviewed these books on Happy Indulgence:

  • Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods – Adorable but frustrating at times because of the brother love triangle. But the main character was certainly eccentric and definitely grows a lot throughout the story.
    3.5 stars
  • The Marked Girl by Lindsey Klingele – I had high hopes for this book, but it didn’t quite pull it off. I felt no chemistry between the characters and the plot just got all tangled up in a way I didn’t enjoy.
    2.5 stars
  • Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire – I would give this book negative stars if I could.
    1 star
  • Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kimberly Karalius – An absolutely adorable sequel to an equally enchanting story! It features a love charm competition and a boyfriend gifted in a box… need I say more?
    4 stars

wrapup3

DISCUSSION

OTHER


Happy June everybody!

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

7 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: Mayhem in May!

  1. GirlReading says:

    I’m so excited to read Out Run the Moon, even more so now after reading your thoughts on it. It sounds wonderful! I hope you’re having a lovely start to June!

  2. Jess I. says:

    Ah, China?! That’s super exciting! I’m starting to look at colleges too, but I won’t be filling out applications until next year. I want to visit a few, but some of the colleges I’m super interested in are on the East Coast (I, on the west) so I don’t know if I’ll be able to fly over there. If I do, I’ll let you know bc we NEED to met! I’m glad to hear you loved Outrun the Moon because I’m really excited to read that one. Here’s to a good June!

    Thanks for stopping by Princessica of Books!

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Ooh that’s fun 😀 I hope you get to visit the colleges on the East Coast! I’m hoping to stay in this area for college (but aiming a bit more north, because Florida weather makes me want to faint.)

      And YAAS GIRL I would love it if we met! ❤

Leave a Reply

