Monthly Wrap-Up: A Bit of A Mundane March

IMG_0061

*looks sadly at my blog calendar for March*

I planned for so many more posts, but ended up not having the energy to write them… πŸ˜₯ This month was mainly a review month, with an interview and no discussions or quirky posts. I’m hoping this changes for next month, but my spirits were just “meh” in general.

wrapup1

Upcoming ACT on April 9 (it’s a standardized test in US) that’ll decide whether or not colleges want me. Or something like that. So I’ve been hardcore studying and getting nagged at my parents.

Speaking of nagging, my mom also hid a couple of my book packages (the ones from UPS that get delivered to the door while I’m at school). WOE IS ME. :’) Apparently I have to get at least a 34 on ACT (out of 36) to get them back. MY BOOKS ARE BEING HELD HOSTAGE, so you can see why I need to study to get them back lol.

Spring break was pretty mellow. I studied a bit and mostly slept haha. While kids were going out and having fun, I was just cruising at home.

wrapup2

  • Air Awakens by Elise Kova – This hyped-up fantasy is riddled with cliches and hackneyed plot elements that had me laughing the whole time while reading.
    2 stars
  • Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell – A retelling ofΒ Sleeping Beauty where the prince falls asleep after kissing Aurora. Interesting characterizations that I didn’t particularly like, and a plot-twisty plot. Seems more like fairy tale fanfiction than anything.
    3 stars
  • Dearest Series by Lex Martin – If every NA book were like this one, my life would be a happier place.
    4 stars
  • Captive Prince by CS Pacat – Although this features a grotesque world that exemplifies rape culture, the oddly endearing characters make it worth the read. The slow as turtle plot did not.
    4 stars
  • Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard – A not-so-solid sequel for the famedΒ Red Queen series, with more banal plot elements and an explosive ending that may inflame readers.
    2 stars

I also reviewed these books on Happy Indulgence:

  • The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins – Increase the drama, decrease the action and it’s the perfect book for readers! For me, the silly romantic entanglements and banal world and hysterical characters made it a pretty sucky read.
    1 star
  • Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan – ThisΒ A Tale of Two Cities retelling was supposed to enchant me but ended up boring me. Hello, 20% info dump!
    DNF
  • Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs – Follows a group of teens with special abilities as they go forward 30 years in time to find the cure for cancer.
    4 stars
  • Dreamology by Lucy Keating – An innovative, refreshing contemporary that explores the the main character Alice as she finds out her dream boyfriend Max was actually real.
    4.5 stars

wrapup3

INTERVIEW


I’m so sorry for the lack of posts during March! It was just a lackluster time for me in regards to life in general. Rest assured that I have aΒ bunch more posts planned for you guys in April. πŸ˜€ Happy reading!
One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

 

25 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: A Bit of A Mundane March

  1. Maha @younicornreads says:

    Hope you’ll do fine in the test, and get your books back!
    I started Glass Sword sometime in March and I stopped because I wasn’t in the mood for it, and because Mare, the main character, was…egocentric? I actually don’t know why I stopped it, but I’ll definitely try it again as soon as I am in the mood for it :/

  2. Read Diverse Books says:

    Looks like a mixed bag of books this month. Some 4 star books mixed with DNFs and 2 & 1 star reviews. No 5 star books? That’s a shame. :/

    Good luck on the ACT! I remember how stressful taking college entrance exams were.

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Ooh I hope you like it! I thought it was a really quick adventure, but fun all the same. And interesting character stories, too!
      Good news: MY BOOKS CAME BACK YESTERDAY (after I finished the test) :’) It feels so good to hold them, omg. Thanks for the luck! ❀

  3. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    It sounds like you’re in a bit of a slump, which definitely happens when you’re busy with real life! Kick those ACTs in the butt Aila, I know you’re going to ace it! Only a few more days to go now and then boooks and freedom!

  4. Amy says:

    I had a bit of a mundane March as well! So did a lot of other people’s post I’ve seen! Maybe we’re all catching some kind of reading / blogging slump disease hahaha! Good luck on the test πŸ™‚

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Thanks so much Amy!

      Noooo, omg. 😦 I hate hearing about that! Luckily enough, I have bunches of posts scheduled throughout April to (hopefully) make up for it, haha. I’m sending you all the positive vibes so you can get out of that slump!

  5. annaingall says:

    Hopefully April will be kinder to you, I had a rather mundane March as well ahah. Reading was more successful in that I enjoyed the majority of what I read so fingers crossed it continues and starts for you as well (seeing that you enjoyed Future Shock I should check it out :D)
    Enchanted by YA

  6. Tasya says:

    I feel you! March is definitely the month for studying since at the beginning of April (in fact today) I’m going to have my finals which would decide if I graduate or not. But there are so many distractions it’s really hard to focus 😭 Best of luck with your tests!

  7. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    YOUR BOOKS HELD HOSTAGE? NOOO, that’s so cruel, ahah I don’t know what I would do. Good luck! ❀ ❀
    And I loved that you gave such a good rating to Dreamology, I am so excited to read that book, even more know knowing that you loved it so much!

  8. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    AHH BOOKS BEING HELD HOSTAGE?? YOU NEED TO RESCUE THEM!
    Study hard – do well – get all the books back (not to go to a good university or anything, nahhhh πŸ˜› )
    And I’m so happy spring break was relaxing for you! πŸ™‚

  9. Sarah Cone says:

    Honestly, for me, what counts in a blog is not how many times you post in a month,but the content of what you post; and IMO, you always post great quality content. So, basically, I’m happy with March… though I’m sorry you’re in a “meh” mood.I hope you can relax & destress after the ACTs(I’m sure you’ll do great, btw).
    *BIG HUGS* πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

