Mini-Reviews: Many Disappointing NA’s

Sometimes I get so angry at New Adult books that I return them, even if it’s $3 on the Kindle. Be ready for some ranting in this post as I explore some books of this genre that many people may have enjoyed, but I, unfortunately, could not. This is just an amalgam of books that I’ve reviewed/commented on for Goodreads, but haven’t put on the blog until now. Enjoy!

17706171This Love
Author: Nazarea Andrews
+Add to Goodreads

Synopsis:

She wants a summer job and a ride to a wedding.

He wants an assistant and a distraction from the mess his life had become.

They didn’t know they needed each other.

Avery Emili needs two grand. Two grand and a plane ticket–her sister is counting on her to get to Jamaica for her wedding. But the semester is over, and tutoring college freshman and high school students has dried up until the fall.

Atticus Grimes needs help–the messy split with his wife left the twenty-eight year old professor scrambling to keep things together as the semester winds down. Now he’s got a research grant he has to actually do research for and all he wants to do is drown himself in a tall bottle of bourbon.

When Avery sees his ad for an assistant, all she’s thinking is a summer job. But as they spend time together, in the office and out, both of them begin to realize something is there. Something that can’t happen–he’s a professor and she’s a student. And both of them have histories, pasts that won’t let go. Can two broken people pulled apart by expectations find a way to be whole?

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

DNF @ 25%

Forget forbidden love between teacher and student – this dude still hasn’t even gotten his DIVORCE PAPERS signed. (Correct me if I’m wrong, but technically he’s still married.) WTF. That is a BIG NO-NO since he’s flirting and all with the main girl Avery.

The switch between POV’s are also very annoying. It switches about 4 times in one chapter after a couple of pages and felt abrupt and disjointed.

Finally, the pacing felt so weird. It didn’t feel like Insta-love or attraction yet the dude still pulled moves on her. It was spontaneous and got me going “huh?!?” Even if I could continue with a STILL F*CKING MARRIED love interest, my total apathy with the characters sealed the deal.

Overall:

I’m sure many NA readers will enjoy this and let these things slide, so I’d totally recommend this one if you’re okay with the stuff I listed above. If, like me, they make you feel uncomfortable and would deter your enjoyment in reading, definitely skip it.


11505797Beautiful Disaster
Author: Jamie McGuire
+Add to Goodreads

Synopsis:

She wants a summer job and a ride to a wedding.

He wants an assistant and a distraction from the mess his life had become.

They didn’t know they needed each other.

Avery Emili needs two grand. Two grand and a plane ticket–her sister is counting on her to get to Jamaica for her wedding. But the semester is over, and tutoring college freshman and high school students has dried up until the fall.

Atticus Grimes needs help–the messy split with his wife left the twenty-eight year old professor scrambling to keep things together as the semester winds down. Now he’s got a research grant he has to actually do research for and all he wants to do is drown himself in a tall bottle of bourbon.

When Avery sees his ad for an assistant, all she’s thinking is a summer job. But as they spend time together, in the office and out, both of them begin to realize something is there. Something that can’t happen–he’s a professor and she’s a student. And both of them have histories, pasts that won’t let go. Can two broken people pulled apart by expectations find a way to be whole?

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

DNF @ 53% and I skimmed the ending

I’ve waited a quarter of the book for Travis to see a psychiatrist or for at least SOMEONE to comment on his mental health. After skimming the ending, it seems that almost all the characters have some issue that never really fixes throughout the book.

Overall:

This book: disaster? Yes. Beautiful? Not one bit.


17788401Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
+Add to Goodreads

Synopsis:

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-ReviewI had a major barf-fest when reading this book.

So ya meet a guy.

You guys have some level of attraction, so ya get in a “friends with benefit” deal. And the guy straight up front goes like “Yeah don’t expect anything from me.”

Whaddya do? Ignore it, because you have feeelings for him. And you turn to liquid with him, because he affects you THAT much. And then proceed to do what HE wants, regardless of your feelings.

I’M CRYING LMAO I SEARCHED UP “LIQUID” AND TATE TURNS INTO LIQUID 13 TIMES IN THE BOOK BECAUSE OF THIS DOUCHE. Thirteen times of:

“No Miles. I follow. That’s how it is with us. You’re solid, I’m liquid. You part the waters, I’m your wake.”

If you want some weakass and insipid female character in your books, then go ahead and take this one. Tate is weak-willed and honestly embarrasses me as a female main character of a book so widely liked. If I had a friend like that… wait, I can’t continue because I’d NEVER have a friend like her. Her life is fucking dominated by Miles, and how hot he is, and how he ignores her, and how he can’t love her (yet she still loves him). She stands up against him ONCE in the book. And even then, they have sex afterwards! No son, that’s not how the game is played.

Alright and then we get to Miles, who’s a fucking drama queen. You want your love interests to be hot, broody, silent, melodramatic messes? You got one right here. In the book, each chapter is juxtaposed with a chapter from Mile’s past six years ago. When he’s in love with ANOTHER woman. Yeah I don’t care about having old flings and shit, but you juxtapose a whole-hearted sex scene with this guy by a chapter where he’s casually fucking the main character, and YOU tell me why this is a turn off. Plus he’s such a ninny, and doesn’t learn from past mistakes.

There’s this one chapter where he’s telling past woman how he wants “rules” for their relationship. Said rules get broken. In the present, there’s this one chapter where he’s telling present woman how he wants “rules” for their relationship. Said rules get broken. Is this deja vu or just me?

I do appreciate what the lesson the author’s trying to reach. It’s the beautiful parts of love that makes up for the ugly parts, yada yada yada.

The lesson doesn’t stick with me because I could connect to the characters… oh, maybe -15%. Probably less. Mostly when I was reading about their antics I just:

The only person I liked in the book is Cap, an old guy who works at their apartment complex who gives them advice. And tells them how stupid they are. (Which I have to agree with!)

I’m trying to think, but I’m not sure why people like this one so much. Oh wait, because of all the sex going on maybe. Yeah, there’s even sex going on when the male character thinks it’s his flame from six years ago that he’s fucking, instead of the acutal girl he’s with. What a turn on.

NOTE: All gifs above are accurate representations of my face when reading this book.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-1star

13 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews: Many Disappointing NA’s

  1. Jenna @ Reading with Jenna says:

    Hahaha your reactions were just THE BEST! I didn’t mind Ugly Love too much but I haven’t picked up anything else by CoHo so…yeah. And I shall be staying away from the other two, especially Mr Fancy MARRIED Professor-who-has-a-research-grant-and-I’m-so-jealous. *throws up a little*

  2. Valerie says:

    I have not read anything by Colleen Hoover, but man that Ugly Love review is hilarious! I had no idea that the whole “You’re solid, I’m liquid” was a thing? WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN? I guess it makes sense because the cover is of water? But still.

    I’m sorry these did not turn out the way you wanted them too. I’m surprised you even ended up finishing Ugly Love!

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      It was soooo ridiculous! The main character had no personality and overall made me super frustrated. THE LIQUID AND WATER THING TOTALLY DIDN’T MAKE SENSE. :’D

      I’m surprised I finished, too! Guess I’m a masochist like that lmao.

  3. Isabella @ GryffindorBooks says:

    Hahahahaha, bad reviews are the BEST to read. Sorry you didn’t enjoy these books! But so glad we got this post out of that 🙂

Leave a Reply

