Book Review: Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins

23277959Until We Meet Again
Author: Renee Collins
Release Date: Novemer 3, 2015
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:
They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time

Cassandra craves drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger shows up on their private beach claiming it’s his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making.

As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence’s life—into jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change history…or risk losing Lawrence forever.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

This was a book with an intense plot, intriguing characters, and a high dose of romance. Told in alternating perspectives between Cassandra and Lawrence, we travel through time reading the story of these lovers that can only meet on a particular private beach in Massachusetts. It’s 2015, and Cassandra is there for the summer. Yet it’s also 1925, and Lawrence lives in the house Cassandra is staying at. While their star-crossed romance makes your heart ache at times, the book has a hopeful tone that keeps you going.

There’s a surprising plot going on, which is the supposed death of Lawrence very shortly after Cassandra meets him. Soon, our characters are unveiling a plot against him and his family. I love how the author dealt with the time-travel aspect, and she includes the Butterfly Effect (my favorite part of it). Basically something you do or change in the past will affect everything that happens in the future. This detail definitely make our characters careful in the actions they make and the possible consequences of them.

However, it doesn’t stop them from falling in love. There was some insta-attraction going on, but throughout the book you can definitely tell the characters’ deep feelings they have for one another. I for one kind of got a little tired at the repeated kissing scenes and no progress in relationship, but I’m pretty sure romance lovers will appreciate them. Lawrence is definitely a gentleman, and both him and Cassandra try to make the most of their time despite being from different time periods. Their romance is passionate, deep, (sometimes cheesy), but overall heart-achingly sweet and gut-wrenching.

The book as a whole is quite predictable, yet still manages to bring out so many emotions. It is a bittersweet combination of love, longing, and hope that will stick with readers, even past the end. Until We Meet Again skillfully combines a dose of science fiction with an everlasting love that will just melt your heart.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-3star

18 thoughts on “Book Review: Until We Meet Again by Renee Collins

  1. Jess I. says:

    I’m glad you liked this one :). I’ve been eyeing it up since it first came out a couple months ago but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. But I do love a good time travel, especially one with the Butterfly Effect.

  2. Kynndra-jo @ Diva Booknerd says:

    Oooh the synopsis of this one has me quite intrigued. The romance also sounds kind of unique. I’ll be curious to see how the two different POV’s differ. Especially with Lawrence believing it to be 1925. Lovely review,

  3. Josephine says:

    This sounds like quite an enchanting read! I’m loving the entire premise of this novel already and I think I’ll definitely be putting this book on my TBR. Great review! 😊

  4. Amy says:

    Time travel romances is definitely the theme as of late. I haven’t heard of this Until We Meet Again but it sounds really interesting. It kind of reminds me of Lakehouse (you know that movie with Sandra Bullock and Christopher Plummer?) in that both time lines are happening at the same time. I’m adding this to my TBR! Great review 🙂

  5. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    This doesn’t sound like my sort of thing. But the cover is so pretty!

    It does make me think of all the boring family holidays I have ever had to take and how much I always hoped some adventure would happen though. If I was a few years younger this exactly the sort of thing I would have been fantasising about, haha.

  6. Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms says:

    What a beautiful cover! I don’t know if I’d enjoy this, because it seems too angsty for me, but I’d be willing to give it a try! Great review 🙂

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      I would’ve loved a really positive ending to this one (that would have been a nice balance), but I found the heartache lasted throughout it all. Ooh I should pick up Relic then, since you loved it. I really enjoyed Collins’ writing. 🙂

      Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

