Fanart Friday (#3): You Light Up My Universe + My Art Process!

ff3

Ready for Round 3 of artsy things?

(I’m sorry I don’t update this feature more haha. If you follow me on Twitter @aila_1woaa I share most of my art there in bursts!)

I’ve shared this picture online a month ago but am resharing it on the blog:
Behold, the main characters from Starflight by Melissa Landers, in full resolution!

artdivider

starflight.png

All rights go to Melissa Landers and Disney Hyperion. The only thing I own is my creativity!

artdivider

I ship these two characters so bad! Who are they? Well, some information about the book first:

Starflight by Melissa Landers

Synopsis:

Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She’s so desperate to reach the realm that she’s willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he’s been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world–and each other–the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe…

Author Site | Add to Goodreads
Preorder: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

artdivider

You can probably guess by now it’s Solara and Doran. Their relationship was absolutely thrilling to read. It steadily grows from dislike to trust to friendship to something more, and I had to draw these two together. ❤ So many feelings!! The next part of this post is a little bit about how I get these ideas together in the first place.

artheader

It Starts With The Book…

Basically my inspiration comes from either a scene, a particular character, or too many emotions waiting to burst from my heart while reading. I knew I was going to draw these characters in the middle of the book, while reading their adorable dialogue. Ideas usually bounce back and forth as I finish the book, and I pick up my drawing tablet pen when I catch the chance to afterwards.

The next challenge is one of the most important: what kind of picture will I draw? It’s all about the details in this one! Should I draw a particular scene, or just the characters? Maybe a make-believe scene that highlights the characters’ personality, or a chibi (cartoon-ish) drawing of them that’s cute and draws the eye? When deciding how to draw the picture for Starlight, I already knew it would be with Solara and Daron. I decided on a more intimate, couple-y pose because THEY’RE MEANT FOR EACH OTHER. Or, er, I like drawing happy couples. None of that angst and betrayal and despair stuff in my pics.

Then I wrack up an image and background in my brain. I knew I wanted to do it in space for this one, and originally I was just going to add the characters to the cover because I thought it’d be cute. However, I couldn’t find a high resolution image for the cover and decided on attempting to replicate it. It looks similar enough to me, so mission accomplished!

… Gets Passed To The Canvas…

The medium I use depends on my mood. I usually either draw digitally or watercolor something up, depending on how well it would fit the picture. I really like drawing space-y things digitally though, because it helps me practice on lighting and stars and the like. (It’s really fun to play with, too!)

22 thoughts on “Fanart Friday (#3): You Light Up My Universe + My Art Process!

  1. Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout says:

    ohmygoshohmygosh this is SO FREAKING GORGEOUS. I haven’t even read the book and I ship them already ahaha. I think you did a fabulous job replicating the cover, and also your drawing skills = THE BEST. I cannot draw to save my life, so I’m basically in COMPLETE AWE right now. You are SO TALENTED.

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      THANK YOU S O MUCH ALYSSA! It’s all part of practice and dedication hehe. (Your comment is making me blush so hard omg) ❤
      Yes yes this is THE ship to ship! Their relationship was so antagonistic in the beginning but it prgoressess so beautifully!

  2. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I love celebrating book romances! Pictures like yours make me so happy! It must be so fun for you to be able to express your feelings by making something so pretty.

    This book sounds so good, too. Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

Leave a Reply

