Blogger Positivity Campaign: Introduction

*Announcer Voice*
Hello, and welcome to the Blogger Positivity Campaign, hosted by Jillian at Jillian’s Books, where a bunch of us bloggers are dedicated to spreading the good vibes around this blogosphere! This is Aila, blogging at One Way Or An Author, where we dedicate our posts to all things book-ish.
*Turns off announcer voice*

What up what up? In this introduction post, we were given some questions to answer for people to get to know each blogger and the like.

You know my name. You know my blog. Now time for the details. So sit back, relax, check out this good-feels 8tracks playlist I listened to while typing up this post, and read to your heart’s content!

  • Where do you blog from?

The beautiful, hot, sunny, warm state of Florida, USA!

  • Who or what made you the reader you are today?

My dad. He’s had a major impact on my life as a whole, and my love of reading stems from the books he would always gift me as a child. Seriously, I was never interested in the books he would get me, yet I still read them. They were all titles that weren’t popular, and yet I ended up enjoying them. So thanks dad, for introducing me to the beautiful world of books, even if you don’t approve of my reading them so much today.

  • Who or what made you decide to create a book blog?

It wasn’t until I attended an author event hosted at my high school during freshman year when I thought about creating a book blog. They were so chill, and I kept thinking, “What would it be like to share my love of books with other people and authors?” Thus, One Way Or An Author was born. Among the authors that came were Jessica Khoury, Anna Banks, and Jessica Brody, whose books have stuck with me ‘til this day.

Omg! I found the tour online ahaha. 😀

  • What are your thoughts on the blogosphere today?

We’re a fun lot. The majority of bloggers I know of are respectful, kind, and absolutely adorable in their fangirling (or fanboying) or books! There are a few outliers here and there, but they’ll never take away from the fun the rest of the blogging community have.

  • 5 random facts about you?
  1. I really should be studying for the SAT right now, but alas.
  2. I play clarinet for the school band; current second chair for concert season.
  3. I used to be a HUGE otaku in my middle school years. Ask me anything about manga or anime, I dare you.
  4. I love the color purple.
  5. I’m not a big fan of mushrooms.
  • 5 favorite books you’ve read and loved?

There are WAYYYYYY too many to narrow it down to five, so I’ll stick with some of my top favorites of 2015:

  1. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
  2. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  4. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  5. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

23395680  18798983  23437156  23734628  22544764

  • 5 favorite book bloggers!
  1. Nova from Out of Time, who has the coolest hair and an even cooler blog. (Just kidding, it might be a close tie on this one.) She features not only books on her blog, but also music, and it’s always a blast whenever I visit it.
  2. Jessica & Amber from The Book Bratz, whose blog is just #goals. Like seriously, they participate in challenges, tours, and street teams, yet their blog stays organized and easy to navigate.
  3. Mishma from Chasing Faerytales writes awesome discussion posts and is just a darling in general. Her blog is always such a delight to see, with its cute fairy on the logo and pretty colors. Not only is she an awesome blogger, but an amazing person.
  4. Faye from The Social Potato, who has never steered me wrong in her reviews. I love how she’s so interactive with her followers, blog or otherwise. Her blog is full of fun stuff, and I can be lost in it for hours.
  5. Cait from Paper Fury, whose voice I absolutely adore whenever I read her posts. Her blog is simple yet stunning, and her posts are always filled with lively discussion.

Thanks for sticking around for that introduction post, and I can’t wait for you guys to see what I have in store to spread the positivity in this lovely community. 😀

With lots of love,

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

27 thoughts on “Blogger Positivity Campaign: Introduction

  1. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    This is such a lovely campaign Aila! I’m glad to have met you and all of the amazing book bloggers in this community! Purple is definitely one of my favourite colours too, and I just need to read Wrath and the Dawn and Six of Crows then I’ll have read all of these favourite books of yours 😀

  2. jilliansbooks says:

    You play the clarinet? AMAZING ❤ I'm sure you'll do great and that you'll impress everyone with your great talent! I don't know anyone here who plays the clarinet, so I find it really cool that you do 🙂

    And OH I'm not surprised that Wrath and Dawn is your favorite book! I just recently bought the book for my birthday last month, but I haven't read it yet haha. I'm a little scared over what I might expect, but I'm also excited over the series 😛 Can't wait to get started on it soon!

    Such great answers, lovely! And I love how you started off your introduction 😀 Thanks so much for participating because I truly appreciate it 100%. Hope you have a great day and go study for your SATs now 😛 Haha! I actually proposed this campaign at my blog during my exam week, so hey we're even somehow?

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Lmaoo Jillian, guess that’s true! Thanks so much for stopping by, and I’m so happy to be participating! What a great way to spread the love~ ❤

      Hehe I don't know many bloggers who play clarinet, but I found some after posting this introduction! That was pretty awesome.

      Tell me how you like TWATD! 🙂 I thought it was absolutely gorgeous, and rest assured that it won't disappoint.

  3. lalalaraz says:

    All the books you have mentioned are ones that I neeeed to read! I don’t know why I haven’t read any of them yet, but I have ordered Illuminae and The Wrath and the Dawn so I shall definitely be reading those soon… I must order the rest of them or else I will forget and we can’t have that!

    Great introduction! (I especially liked the introduction to the introduction) and I will definitely be back on Friday to see more of the positivity campaign on your blog 🙂

    Also, I love your blog name!!

  4. Eileen @ BookCatPin says:

    I used to play the clarinet in the school band too! That was a long time ago though so I’m super rusty now ha…. And I used to get called an otaku too XD I own copies of all your top favourites but I have yet to read any of them O.O Excuse me now while I go dive into them. Anyways this is very fun Aila! I can’t wait to see what else you have prepared 😀

  5. Zoe says:

    Yeah! I am so glad to see you are are participating in this too! It’s such a great campaign! I completely agree with your choices of Illuminae and Six of Crows – those are both two of my favorites as well. Thanks for sharing, and I can’t wait to see your next post on Friday! ♥

  6. cwreads says:

    This was such a nice read! As much as I love reading book reviews, I love learning more about my fellow bloggers. c:

    All of your top 5 books of 2015 are on my TBR – especially Six of Crows! I tried to request it at the library but I would have had to wait until next year to get it. Bleh. :c The hype is real. I tried listening to Wrath and the Dawn on audiobook, but felt a little lost with the names, so I’m going to wait until I can get an eBook or paper copy so that I can visualize the names. c:

    CLARINET! I wish I played a wind/brass instrument; I feel like I would have the lungs for it. I opted for violin instead, which was really fulfilling, but there’s so many of us. I miss playing an instrument though – don’t give it up! ;_;

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      YeSS CW I so recommend all the books! Hopefully you can get a copy of TWATD, because seeing the words is a whole ‘nother experience. 🙂 That’s so rad that you can play violin though! Seriously, there’s a lot of clarinet players too haha.

  7. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Awww, I’m SO completely honoured right now. *blushes* YOU ARE SO FABULOUS LET ME GIVE YOU JUST A SMALL MOUNTAIN OF CAKE. Omg, and that’s so awesome your dad got you into reading!! My mum did for me!! My entire childhood was being read to and gah, I just haven’t stopped. XD
    OMG I LOVE MISHMA’S BLOG TOOOO!!
    And Illuminae and TW&TD are definitely two of my top-favourite reads of this year. Omg. :’) Not happy about either cliffhanger though. *grabby hands for sequels*
    xDXD

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      AHHH I’M SO HONORED THAT YOU COMMENTED! *faints* Thank you. 🙂
      AND I ACCEPT THE MOUNTAIN OF CAKE GRACIOUSLY.
      Aren’t parents awesome? And for real, all I did was read when I was younger.
      I’m grabbing for those sequels too. 😀 Absolutely can’t wait to see how they end!

  8. Josephine says:

    This is an absolutely fantastic post Aila! Good luck for your SAT! This is such a lovely feature that I feel as though I want to join in too!
    I love the blogs that you mentioned as some of your favourites. I must say I adore Cait and Faye’s blogs so much! 💓

  9. Faye (@kawaiileena) says:

    I absolutely adore ths Aila! I feel so honored to be one of your favorite bloggers. But YOOOOOOOO we’re on the same boat when you mentioned how it was your dad that steered you to reading, because it was my dad too who ignited that part of me when he bought LITTLE WOMEN for me to read and my HARRY POTTER audiobooks. Aren’t dads the bestest of the best? XDD

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

