Life Update + Six of Crows Video

Hello, voracious readers and intelligent thinkers! I’ll make this a quick life update and why I haven’t been as active as I want to. πŸ™‚

Recently I’ve been really stressed: grades, tests, clubs, trying to keep volunteering while balancing marching band practices and competitions. The past week was the worst for me. I’ve been getting headaches, had 0% motivation to do anything, and quite prone to tears. (Tell me it’s not embarrassing to cry in front of your whole chemistry class, including the teacher??) I mean, I guess you’re at a certain low when not even the best efforts of your friends or family could cheer you up…

But I overcame it. Like every good obstacle in books, I (being the main character) was able to defeat the mental stresses (towards the climax) and dwindle down into a demure denouement (A+ alliteration, if I may say) to find my balance again. It’s been tough, but we all have to go through torture to transform into diamonds, right? (Or am I working this analogy wrong… I’m not sure what I’m saying anymore)

ANYWAY, the point of this life update is to basically say: I’m here and I’m okay. A week and a half may not seem like much, but it was pretty equivalent to a year a half for me. Nevertheless, I got through it, and you can too. Don’t stop believing in yourself, because at one point I did and it was pure hell.

To more light topics: I submitted a video contest entry on Youtube for the contest here. Basically, you upload a 2-minute or less video where you talk about why you would be an asset to Kaz’s crew inΒ Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Grand prize? Having your name in the sequel, which is pretty awesome.

I’ve been putting off making this video for the past week, so today I scrambled to finish filming and make some edits.

If you want to see it,

But at the same time feel free to skim pass it if you don’t want to waste the time, because it’s quite embarrassing haha.

Either way, you should totally read this book if you haven’t already because it is pure perfection. If I weren’t swamped with so much to read and catch up on, I would’ve reread it the moment I got my copy.

Here’s a link to my review of it
Also I had a Fanart Friday feature for it

I hope you guys are enjoying your week (can’t believe it’s only Tuesday) and happy reading, fellow Earthlings!Β 

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Signature

14 thoughts on “Life Update + Six of Crows Video

  1. Adriyanna Zimmermann says:

    Totally understand the stress, what with school and work it can be hard for me to find time to read never mind write reviews! Good luck in the Six of Crows contest! It’d totally be awesome to have your name in the next book πŸ™‚

  2. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    OMG the team would be blessed to have you bb! THIS VIDEO IS AMAZING! You are such a natural on the camera and you are SO CUTE! And fearsome, remind me never to cross you and your tae kwon do skills haha. Hope life and school eases back on you soon! *hugs*

    PS MAKE MORE VIDEOS. CASH IN ON YOUR BUBBLINESS AND SASS.

    • Aila @ One Way Or An Author says:

      Ahh thanks so much Aentee! Your words really mean a lot because watching myself while editing was very, very embarrassing. :’D
      *hugs back* I’m getting back in the groove for school, so more time for reading/blogging hopefully.
      I WILL TRY TO MAKE MORE VIDEOS. πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for your support! ❀

Leave a Reply

