Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer – Off the Page (Between the Lines #2)

23278280Off the Page
Authors: Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer
Series: Between the Lines
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Get it Here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:
From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.
Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after.
Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestsellerBetween the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

One-Way-Or-An-Author-Review

Basically what I did this morning was reread Between the Lines(which I hadn’t touched since its first year of publication when I was in middle school) and read and finish Off the Page.

I like how the authors didn’t make everything a happily ever after from the first book and decided to continue the story. The magic of the characters isn’t totally explained in this book, but the vague mystery surrounding it makes it more enjoyable to read about, especially when I can apply it to my own life.

We start with Oliver trying to adjust to his life in the Otherworld (or the world of the audience, or OUR world). He has a tough time, but luckily Delilah is there to help him fit in. The romance(s) in this book are as adorable as ever, and I enjoyed reading about the cute couple.

However, the book where Oliver came from isn’t really compatible with Edgar’s rendition of it becoming a space war zone. It’s trying to shape the characters back into the original story and it wants Oliver back. While Delilah and the rest of the cast are trying to fix things, they end up making it worse, with many characters crossing over from the book to real life or vice versa. These interactions were especially fun to read about and I felt like all the characters in the book came off the page in my imagination. Haha, see what I did there?

Continuing on are the large event(s) that happened towards the end of the book. Completely unexpected, but necessary for the storyline and also adds a much needed dose of realism to the book. Unlike the original Between the Lines by Jessamyn Jacobs, real life doesn’t end with a happily ever after. Fortunately, our clever characters manage to turn that fact into an advantage and of course, we end up with a pretty satisfying ending. It’s definitely not a happily ever after, but close enough. ❤

I’m overall quite impressed at what the authors manage to think of after the nicely ended Between the Lines, and I’d definitely recommend this book to people who believe in creating their own happily ever afters.

 One-Way-Or-An-Author-4star
Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer – Off the Page (Between the Lines #2)

  1. cwreads says:

    This book sounds adorable! Your last line – “I’d definitely recommend this book to people who believe in creating their own happily ever afters” – really hooked me. I’m definitely that sort of person! I’ve seen this book in the book shops, but haven’t given much thought to it. But I think I’ll check this out and the first book out.
    Thanks for reviewing this! ❤

  2. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I love the sound of this book, it seems so lighthearted and filled with childlike wonder! Such a beautiful review, Aila, you have me keen to check it out! I’ve never read Jodi Picoult before, so maybe this is a good starting point.

  3. Diana @ Booking an Adventure says:

    Aw man! I need to read this book. I’m a sucker for anything “fairy tale” related and THIS IS IT. A prince coming out of the pages. I’m defiantly going to read both books now 🙂
    This is a wonderful review and you really sold it with the last line!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s