Blog Hop: Crow’s Rest by Angelica R. Jackson

22573426Crow’s Rest
Author: Angelica R. Jackson
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press:
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Get it here: BN |  Amazon | BookDepository

Synopsis:
Avery Flynn arrives for a visit at her Uncle Tam’s, eager to rekindle her summertime romance with her crush-next-door, Daniel.But Daniel’s not the sweet, neurotic guy she remembers—and she wonders if this is her Daniel at all. Or if someone—some thing—has taken his place.Her quest to find the real Daniel—and get him back—plunges Avery into a world of Fae and changelings, where creatures swap bodies like humans change their socks, and magic lives much closer to home than she ever imagined.

Okay so in this blog hop I’ll be sharing a ghost story from my experience. In all honesty, I can’t wait to read other people’s stories more because I lead a pretty mundane life. The story I have is probably the only time I’ve ever been freaked out, other then when I was little I used to think a stranger was living in my house without my family knowing. (There must be a phobia name for that.) Anyway, the story is fairly short and simple, but there’s some background information to add before the main part. Without further ado, I’ll get to it.

Last year, I went to Savannah, Georgia with some family friends to do a little sightseeing. I live in Florida, so we drove a little up there for a weekend. Now, Savannah is a ghost hub apparently, and it’s pretty famous for its ghost tours. Obviously we wouldn’t want to miss out on that.

The first day was pretty awesome, because the fam and I got to eat out all the time, the hotel was really quaint (it’s called The Marshall House, and has the cutest layout!), and just the getting away from dreary Florida had us all in good spirits.

So evening comes and we’re getting ready for the ghost tour. The fam and I, along with other tourists, stack up in one of those open buses (trolleys? I’m not sure what they’re called) and head out to different monuments and sites. In all honesty, I don’t remember any of the buildings we passed or any of the stories, but I did remember that we all had a jolly good time. And one other thing: when passing one of the buildings, the tour guide convinced us to download a ghost radar on our phones. Now, I love participating in these kinds of activities so obviously I downloaded it. Then the guide told us to pull it up, and whaddya know? There’s two ghosts in the left hand side. Where a building stood. So she (the guide) said some boring story of how two people died (sisters I think? I’m really not good at details), and how they haunt the house.

Yeah so I’m a totally skeptic. These activities are fun and all, but I never let it get to me. I’m not sure how the electromagnetic field works (my only experience is that supposed app and Supernatural), but obviously this tour guide company found those dots and concoted a convenient story about it. We move on to the next attraction, and I continue on having fun.

When I get home from Savannah, the adrenaline high from the trip is wearing off as it usually does. I’m in my bed, and I’m prepared to delete the EMF ghost detecting app. I’m a curious person by nature, so I check out the radar before deleting it. And HOLY SHIT – there’s a freaking red dot to the lower left of my location… right next to me bed. Above, I said that these kind of things don’t really get to me. But come on, even the worst skeptics would get at least a little creeped out by that, right? It wasn’t moving or anything, but the fact that it was RIGHT NEXT TO MY BED just got me off-balanced.

Suffice it to say, I immediately deleted the app, watched some episodes of Supernatural to remind myself how dumb demons/ghosts can be, and slept in the guest room that night.

I think this kind of shows that every one of us, no matter how much we don’t believe in ghosts, have a fear of the unknown. Since none of us really know if they exist or not, right? I’ve always thought I’m fearless about these things and joke around about them a lot, but that didn’t stop me from being hella creeped out by a simple little ghost detector app. This is one of the reasons why I love fantasy books so much. I’ll never stop believing, even if it’s against all logic, that there’s a world out there with vampires, or fairies, or ghosts, or demons and angels. And this is one of the reasons why I can’t wait to read Crow’s Rest. Who knows what kind of world Avery – and the readers – will explore in the book?

Displaying Angelica R Jackson photo.jpgIn keeping with her scattered Gemini nature, Angelica R. Jackson has far too many interests to list here.

She has an obsession with creating more writing nooks in the home she shares with her husband and two corpulent cats in California’s Gold Country. Fortunately, the writing nooks serve for reading and cat cuddling too.

Other pastimes include cooking for food allergies (not necessarily by choice, but she’s come to terms with it), photography, and volunteering at a local no-kill cat sanctuary.

Twitter  |   Facebook  |   Goodreads  |   Photo Galleries  |   Blog  |   Website

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out all the Crow’s Rest swag you can win!

Displaying CR swag.jpg

Displaying CR swag 2.jpg

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop: Crow’s Rest by Angelica R. Jackson

Leave a Reply

