Richelle Mead – Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2)

2282133Frostbite
Author: Richelle Mead
Series: Vampire Academy
Get it here: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis:
Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose…

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks… This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…

Just reading the first sentence of the blurb makes me in pain. I’m going to jump right in with this review.

This book had a lot more kick-ass action than the first, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Rose was still a bitch, but a more chill bitch because we can see that she actually has the ability to back up her claims. There’s still the exasperating high school drama going on, but it’s more mild than the first book (thank god).

The romance progresses a bit more on Rose’s side, a lot more on Lissa’ side. Both were pretty enjoyable, but like I said about the first book, nothing soooo romantic about it that I’d, I dunno, want to steal the guys. Is that still a thing? The ship is sailing definitely, but at this point I have no real interest to be an active passenger of a ship, just another passerby.

What I didn’t like was the way Rose led Mason around. Holy shit, just tell the poor dude you’re not fucking into him. I swear to god, I wanted to jump into the book and give advice to Rose about guys. For a girl who’s so flirtatious and always the center of attention, she’s so bad at taking care of her relationships. The only excuse I can give her is the fact that Dimitri is technically off-limits. Still, that ain’t stopping her, so why you still trying to latch onto Mason?

The ending was my favorite part of the book. So much more action that I enjoyed! I mean, vampires was what the marketing gave me. I finally get to see bad guys in action and fighting at the end. This made it better than the first book, and by that time I was hooked on the series after Rose actually started fighting.

4 thoughts on “Richelle Mead – Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2)

  1. Aimee says:

    It’s been YEARS since I read this series, and I remember not giving a crap about Mason back then. But I recently read the graphic novel for Frostbite, and oh my heart was aching for him. And the ending was definitely insane–in a good way. 🙂 Fantastic review, Aila! ❤

Leave a Reply

