Jodi Meadows – The Orphan Queen

18081228The Orphan Queen
Author: Jodi Meadows
Series: The Orphan Queen #1
Release Date: March 10, 2015

Synopsis:
Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others.

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world.

Would you believe me if I said that right before a math test (while we were reviewing), I started jumping like a monkey because of this book? Or that during 7th period, right before I finished this book, I started babbling incoherently to one of my poor peers that happened to be staring at me strangely because of my agitation because of this book? Unfortunately, both happened and I have no regrets because I just enjoyed this too much.

Starting with characters, Wil is probably my all-time favorites now. She’s the princess of a lost throne (No… not a spoiler…) and will do anything possible to get it back. Well, not everything, as she finds out later in the book. Her character is absolutely delightful, as we get to see Wil navigate through court with an alias while still keeping up with her goals. Manipulation and fighting is on-point. What a boss.

“The Ospreys, these children, were my life. Without them, I had nothing.
But with them…
With them, I would take back my kingdom.”

Holy crap yes, you go girl! The only other character that I had a connection with was Black Knife, through his interactions with Wil. I mean, you get to see the orphans in the Ospreys but you never really get to connect with them, or empathize with them, or anything, you know? Even Wil’s best friend Melanie was not very in-depth throughout the story and I cared zilch for her. So this, kind of shows why I ship them so much, because I honestly don’t care about the other characters.

Thus, I give you a (kinda-spoilery) fanart!! This is a scene from the book so if you want your questions answered then I suggest you read it.

Who these people?? Who da Black Knife? Why is Wil called an Orphan Queen??? Read the book to find out.

I really enjoyed the world-building in this story. It was all pretty straight-forward. Magic is banned, but some kingdoms (like Wil’s) didn’t want to sign the agreement and it all spiraled down to a (Can you believe it?) One-Night War. However, our princess has secrets of her own that she’s trying to keep or else she’d be thrown in jail. And yes, the wraiths from the blurb. They’re an interesting concept, as both magic and magic by-products are banned. I think of wraiths like the evil side of magic that’s a no-no. You have to have one to have the other. Ying and yang, yo.

“Magic was completely illegal. Unpardonable. Unforgivable. Not many people had magic anymore, as far as I knew, but those caught using it were never seen again.”

The pacing was perfect to the plot. Romance: ahh, slow to burn but quick once heated up. Getting back the throne: yes, throughout the book things were getting done on this point. Magic and wraiths: We spend a whole section of the book at the Wraithland with Wil, and WHOO GIRL, the things there are hella. Hella what? That’s for me to know, and you to find out.

I came for the deception that Wil had to carry out, I stayed for my OTP, illegal magic, and the world they’re all in. 

 

5 thoughts on “Jodi Meadows – The Orphan Queen

  1. Olivia says:

    So glad to see that you were able to love this! I know a lot of people were excited to get started on it, but personally I don’t think it is one for me. I am sure many might have some fun though 😀 I love that other people became victims of your book-love 😉

Leave a Reply

