Jennifer L Armentrout – Opal (Lux #3)

imgOpal
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Series: Lux
Release Date: December 11, 2012
Rating:

Summary:
After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

After reading the previous two books, I feel like I’ve read it all. I’m not sure what the hype about Jennifer L Armentrout’s writing is, because it’s not that big of a deal to me. The characters are quaint, and the romance is quite enjoyable. I’m not too big on paranormal romance, so if this is the best it can get then it won’t be a genre that I will be reading so much in the future.

Not saying the book is bad, but compared to the intricate world building in fantasy or the sympathetic characters in contemporary, a paranormal romance just lacks a lot. The romance is very cute and satisfying, but sometimes I’m wondering: is the only thing going in the book the romance and drama? Granted, as we progress through the series we learn more about the Luxen, and I do applaud Armentrout’s originality on that aspect. But being a creative idea doesn’t make it less… cheesy than a paranormal romance with, say, vampires or werewolves.

This is definitely a just-me problem, as most people I know enjoy the books anyway. I’m all about that cliché life too when I’m in the mood, but:
”’No. You don’t get it.’ He turned to me, furious. ‘This isn’t a paranormal fantasy or whatever the hell it is you read. There is no set plot or clear idea of where any of this is going. The enemies aren’t obvious. There are no guaranteed happy endings and you – ‘ He lowered his head so we were eye level. ‘You are not a superhero, no matter what the hell you can do.’”
No Daemon, what you said was exactly what the book is.

Kudos to Armentrout for that cliffhanger ending, although I can’t say it was unexpected. (It was quite, quite expected in my case.) Her writing in the books is quite… average for me. The vocabulary is very simple and the paragraphs are easy to read, which allow me to finish the books quite quickly. Other than that, nothing really makes it stand out. I’m not sure why everyone loves it but at least I can say I’ve experienced it now haha.

Well, the mysteries of the Luxen are unfurling while Daemon and Katy become entangled in a super lovey-dovey relationship with everyone else in the background. Did I mention how dumb the mom is? Katy’s mom is very ignorant and oblivious to the things going around her and I’m wondering: is this an American mom mentality or is it just me?

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

