Lauren Myrcale – The Infinite Moment of Us

img

For as long as she can remember, Wren Gray’s goal has been to please her parents. But as high school graduation nears, so does an uncomfortable realization: Pleasing her parents once overlapped with pleasing herself, but now… not so much. Wren needs to honor her own desires, but how can she if she doesn’t even know what they are?

Charlie Parker, on the other hand, is painfully aware of his heart’s desire. A gentle boy with a troubled past, Charlie has loved Wren since the day he first saw her. But a girl like Wren would never fall for a guy like Charlie—at least not the sort of guy Charlie believes himself to be.

And yet certain things are written in the stars. And in the summer after high school, Wren and Charlie’s souls will collide. But souls are complicated, as are the bodies that house them…

Sexy, romantic, and oh-so-true to life, this is an unforgettable look at first love from one of young adult fiction’s greatest writers.

You would expect a fluffy contemporary read to leave you feeling fuzzy and warm inside but after reading the last paragraph, my face was basically
(This is very accurate considering I have a similar Asian face.)
First things first, I hastily grabbed this book from the library’s shelf because the cover is amazing. If I could rate the cover, it’s a 10/5. The book however, fell a bit short.

What I Liked:

Girl dealing with problems with parents.
A sheltered, protective girl with what we call in psychology authoritarian parents (my way or the highway thinking) tries to overstep her boundaries and live her own life. Okay I like this.
Author actually knows what’s up in school.
Maybe I haven’t read a lot of contemporary books, but it seems like Lauren Myracle actually knows what people do in school? Too many times in books are characters in high school but not doing like half the things I do, and I’m just like, “?????” In this book, the characters take AP classes (that’s a first), and even clubs like Science Olympiad and Odyssey of the Mind (which I did!) was mentioned. I don’t know if authors care, but those little details make so much more out of the school environment for me. I just appreciated that a lot.
The characters Tessa and PG.
Tessa is Wren’s best friend and is great. PG is Tessa’s boyfriend and is also great. I like how the author spends time on their characters, no matter how little.

What I Didn’t Like:

It was like, pre-instalove.
Charlie Parker has been in love with Wren Gray since before the book even started. All I got from that was them hanging out together and having sex. The actions were like they were in love, but it just didn’t feel like it since they never had a basis to begin with. Flash panties, lock eyes, exchange waves, and BOOM they’re heading the road to dating.
What the actual fuck was with Starrla?
What was this character’s purpose? To create drama and angst, of course, but whenever she came up in the book I was left with a sick taste in my mouth. Charlie used to hook up with this chick, a stereotypical slutty possessive kind of bitch. See, every time that kind of character appears I’m like “oh maybe she’ll have a little more depth in her and not be such a bitch” and every time I’m disappointed ha. This time was no exception. Wtf even happened to her in the end? I DON’T EVEN KNOW, which brings me to…
Thinking about the ending makes me scowl.
Rushed. Open. Inconclusive. Unsatsifying. That’s just the top of the list. Sometimes I can really appreciate open endings. This time was not one. Sometimes I can ignore a rushed ending if the book was good in other places. Again, did not happen. Thus, the scowl on my face when I read the last page.
It was just really unsatifying to read.
There was always some problem and problems and complications from both characters’ ends that I became annoyed with. Wren is so undecisive I want to cry for her. Charlie really needs to get his priorities straight and grow up. Even in the end I didn’t think either character really grew up. Hey at least they’re immature and indecisive together now, right?
In the end, I had no emotional connection to these characters.
This was really disappointing because I thought Wren and I had something going from the blurb, but alas. Also that whole pure virgin role made me gag a little. Wren is a virgin in the book, which is alright with me. Her first kiss is with Charlie, which is groovy okay. But she just acted like she was 16 or something. SCRATCH THAT – Charlie couldn’t have been older than 16 too. If these are the adults that will be in our world, then God help us all.

Recommended for:
Contemporary readers who like romance and sex (eyyy).
You don’t like open endings? Skip this book. Don’t like getting annoyed at characters every other chapter? Don’t let the pretty cover fool you and save yourself. Tired of slut-shamed villianous females that literally ruin everything? Don’t even think twice.
If you’re good with the stuff mentioned above, then don’t hesitate to pick this one up!

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

