Shannon Hale – Dangerous

img

Maisie Danger Brown just wanted to get away from home for a bit, see something new. She never intended to fall in love. And she never imagined stumbling into a frightening plot that kills her friends and just might kill her, too. A plot that is already changing life on Earth as we know it. There’s no going back. She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.

From NY Times bestselling author Shannon Hale comes a novel that asks, How far would you go to save the ones you love? And how far would you go to save everyone else?

This book came out to be a terrible, terrible, terrible disappointment for me.

Let me get this straight: I’m a big fan of romance. I think it adds a lot of spice to things, and unnecessary angst that I can’t help but feel. And when it’s done right – oh baby, you’ll here me squealing from miles away. HOWEVER. I am NOT a big fan of books that have a main character “save the world” when her thoughts are limited to…. drumroll please…. ah yes, a member of the opposite sex. A BOY.

img

To make it worse, for some reason the author makes it more than one boys. In fact, the only purpose of one of the boys in the story is to be a secondary love interest. Wha- why? Looking back, that character hardly did anything! Scratch that – he did NOTHING. (Except add some unecessary drama that made me roll my eyes six million times.)

Anyway, the main character really had an interesting beginning. Maisie Danger Brown has always wanted to be an astronaut, despite having one arm. That was really surprising and left me really intrigued! However, the unfortunate part is that the missing limb did not contribute to the story at all. Sure, she got teased because of it. It was also the reason why she was homeschooled. But other than that, she wasn’t hindered at all by not having an arm! It just… sat there. (Or should I say, didn’t since she didn’t have one to begin with.) What a waste of an actually interesting situation.

Maisie Danger Brown has always wanted to be an astronaut SO MUCH that she wastes most of space boot camp on a boy. Again, I was excited at the thought of space camp. What do I see there, though? One or two classes and a bunch of mushy mushy gushy feelings.
Maisie wins a cereal box prize of going to this space boot camp. She’s always wanted to become an astronaut, so this is an amazing opportunity for her. Maisie Danger Brown was so excited she spent the last night at home thinking about a boy.
“That night I thought more about Luther than astronaut boot camp.”
Glad to know where your priorities are, Maisie Danger Brown.

img

So at this point I’m ready for boot camp. I want to see how Maisie does, how she would fit in because of her arm (or lack thereof), what classes were like. About two classes were mentioned, and all we get is a bunch of,
“I glanced up to see if he was bored. Instead I felt his hand on my cheek and his lips on mine. Just a touch, a softness, a greeting. One kiss that lasted seven rapid heartbeats.”
Again – how long have you know this guy? And you really have smooth moves considering you’ve managed to hook up with the richest (therefore) best catch in the camp even though you’re homeschooled! Dang girl.

Massie Danger Brown thinks that having “Danger” as a middle name is a good excuse to do stupid things.
“Prove it, Maisie Danger Brown, I dared myself. Your name was supposed to be a joke. Prove it’s not.”
Uhh, it might not be a good time to prove it just before heading to an UNAUTHORIZED VISIT TO SPACE.

Speaking of space, apparently the technology here is so advanced they built a space elevator. Eyy that’s cool and all but when is this happening? Is this the future or what? I’m not even sure, because the only thing that’s significantly futuristic is the advanced space technology. I literally felt like Squidward (sans clarinet) half the time.

img

Maisie Danger Brown thinks it’s a good idea to pine over a forlorn love when the world’s fate is in her hands.
“When the others went to bed, I stayed in the lab. Wilder wasn’t there, but I knew he would come. Since the lockdown, there was nowhere else for him to go except his lonely little room, and he hated being alone… The boy needed company. And I wanted a full confession. The question and presence of Wilder was distracting me from my mission.”
If “distracting me from my mission” means unecessarily thinking of him at the most inopportune times, then yes, I agree with you Maisie Danger Brown.

Oh and the mission! The Purpose! The, “She is the only thing standing between danger and annihilation.” (from the blurb) part of it was just a major cringe-fest! We have aliens and species that are not given any specific names and special abilities that just don’t excite me. It’s like a sci-fi movie gone wrong. Maybe a joke of a sci-fi novel. The most accurate would be a romance disguised as a sci-fi thriller.

I think this book would really do as a middle school adventure. As a young adult book, though? No thank you. I’m assuming Maisie is 16 or 17 since she enrolls as a junior in high school. She did not feel like it at all. Maybe it was the simplistic writing style, or my lack of empathy with the character, but to me Maisie seemed like 13, 14 years old max. Now there is an almost-sex scene in the book, but just because there is one doesn’t mean that makes it for young adult audiences. Like bruh, this girl even censors other people’s dialogues with bleep. It gets so fucking annoying sometimes it makes me want to just curse aloud to get rid of the bleeps in my head after reading.

This might have been a book I would enjoy in middle school, but I guess I was expecting a lot more substance. Less of the “I can’t stop thinking about him,” and more of the “I can’t stop thinking about saving the world.” In short, Maisie Danger Brown probably won’t become an astronaut considering she’d kill herself in space because she’d be too busy thinking about boys.
This makes a lot of sense, too, since after space camp ends (which is like half of the book) she stops thinking about it totally. What a shame – another one-armed astronaut lost by the calls of love.

Rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

