Top Ten Tuesday (#1)

img

Top Ten Tuesday is created by The Broke and the Bookish and features top ten lists of different categories. 

Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t/Want To Read From Fantasy Genre:
(Wow that grammar there is pretty uncomfortable huh.)

10. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
For some reason I’ve never finished this book? A friend actually gave me a copy of hers like a YEAR ago and I still haven’t read past the first 30 pages… (Sorry Angela.) Maybe I’ll take it up again once the series finishes in like forever years.

9. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
I’ve never read the series as a child… So my friend is making me read it this year. I’ve finished the first book (and kept making movie-book comparisons while reading it) and have yet to get copies of the rest of the series.

8. Throne of Glass by Sarah Mass
Ah yes, another “throne of – ” book that I have been avoiding. I’ve seen mixed reviews on this, so I guess I’ve just been putting it on hold until the series ends, which is this year I think. Something to do with focusing a lot on makeup and a little on actual assassination, which is what the blurb advertises? So yeah, I’m not jumping the bandwagon on this anytime soon.

7. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
This book has won quite a lot of awards, but honestly I’ve been staying away from Brandon Sanderson ever since being bored by Steelheart last year. Maybe one day I’ll take up on of his books, but today is not the day.

6. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
I remember falling asleep when I watched the movie so this book held little to no interest for me. Alas, that was before the days I became so interested in books and the stories they tell and worlds they hold.

5. Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce
Honestly I’ve been meaning to read this for so long but haven’t tried to get copies of the books. Everything I hear about the series has been awesome, so I’ll definitely be trying to finish it perhaps this year. *gulps*

4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
I like some drama once in a while but I feel like making it into a series of multiple books with 600+ books each is stretching it a bit too thin. I’m pretty sure I’d get bored by page 400 of the book because there’s honestly so much you can write without becoming repetitive or falling into common tropes/cliches multiple times. Plus I’ve heard bad news about the romance so I’m a little glad I haven’t spent time on this book.

3. The Princess Bride by William Goldman
Loved the movie so much I can quote it. The book? Haven’t tried. It’s probably better. I should definitely read it. Sigh.

2. Pern series by Anne McCaffrey
I think this is a really popular dragon book series that everyone likes, but I’m not too sure. Looking at the publication order on Goodreads makes me confused. Let’s just say there’s a lot of books in this series, stemming from 1968-2011. Honestly, I’m not thinking about reading this series at all but I thought I’d add it to the list because I like dragons and I feel like it’s one of the books I should’ve read a long time ago.

1. The Once and Future King by T.H. White
Yaas to Camelot! Hopefully I’ll get a copy of this classic one day, read it, and enjoy it more than Le Morte de Arthur (which was alright, but so tiring to read). I mean, how can you skip out on King Arthur and Merlin and let’s not forget the Knights of the Round Table, right?

What are some books that you can’t believe you haven’t read in the Fantasy genre? Comment below so we can sigh forlornly together about missing out on popular books!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#1)

  1. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense says:

    The Throne of Glass series is amazing, don’t listen to the mixed reviews. I do think the second book, Crown of Midnight, is the best book so far and the world Sarah J. Maas builds in Throne of Glass is expanded upon, and the plot and characters become truly epic in the second installment. Have I convinced you yet? Also as a Potterhead, I hope you end up loving HP as much as I do. Happy reading!
    My TTT

  2. Olivia says:

    I AM NOT ALONE! I never read Harry Potter as a child and have felt like an outcast for so long. Last year I read the first two books and didn’t really like it much (making me more so an outcast xD) I feel like they are best if read when you are a child. I’ll plough through the books eventually, though.

    As for A Game of Thrones, I finished reading that last week. And loved it ❤ You should really get to it! Throne of Glass is a book I should really read myself. Brandon Sanderson and Outlander are books I should really get to as well.

    Check out my review and giveaway: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2015/02/organ-reapers-review-giveaway.html

  3. elimadison2019 says:

    What an amazing list! I’ve read most of these, but not some of the adult ones. I’ve heard they’re all amazing, and I hope you get the chance to read them soon! And if you need a place to start, Brandon Sanderson is never a bad way to go ;D

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

Leave a Reply

