Demitria Lunetta – In the End (In the After #2)

image

She thought it was the end of the world… But it was only the beginning of the end.

It’s been three months since Amy escaped New Hope. Since she’s seen Baby, or Kay, or Rice. And she’s been surviving on her own, like she did before she was “rescued” and taken to what she thought was a safe haven. Then, in the midst of foraging for supplies, her former fellow Guardian’s voice rings out in her earpiece. And in a desperate tone, Kay utters the four words Any had hoped she would never hear:

Dr. Reynolds has Baby.

Now it’s a race against time, for Baby is in imminent danger, her life threatened by the malevolent doctor who had helped start the end of the world. In order to save Baby, Amy will have to make her way to Fort Black, a former prison-turned-survivor colony. There she will need to find Ken—Kay’s brother—for he holds the key to Baby’s survival.

But before she can do any of this, she’ll have to endure the darkest places—and people—of the prison. And one small slip-up could not only cost Baby and Amy their lives, but threaten the survival of he people in the After.

Demitria Lunetta has created an utterly compelling conclusion to the story she set forth in In the After. Readers of the Hunger Games trilogy will not be able to pit down this book, which is gripping from beginning to end.

Was that really the finale? Because I had to reread the last couple of pages to make sure it had an ending.

In The End follows the story of In the After, where people basically turn into zombies (called Them in the beginning, but later they’re revealed to be florae). Amy has escaped New Hope without Baby, who is being experimented on by the super evil maniac villain Dr. Reynolds, since she has survived the bite of a florae but had not been transformed into one. (See? They’re pretty much zombies.) Amy somehow thinks that going to Ken, another researcher who’s trying to find a cure, will save Baby so he can take tests of her instead of Dr. Reynolds. But that’s her best shot, so she heads into Fort Black and starts her search.

What I liked:

– Fort Black is for criminals.
It’s a prison, which is pretty awesome when you add it to the backdrop of an apocalyptic world. The more gruesome the setting, the better. This one was not as bloodthirsty as I expected, but this place was a nice addition.

– Brenna was bad ass as hell.
With a shaved head and spinal tattoo, this woman made me reconsider my heterosexuality. It helps that she’s also pretty important to the plot regarding vaccines for the Florae. This is my favorite character and the one that kept me going throughout the book.
“‘I’m one in a million?’ Brenna says with a smirk. ‘I always knew I was awesome.'”
Yes, you are amazing, Brenna.

– Amy’s loyalty to Baby.
Man I honestly don’t understand it; I would give up some 6 year old to save humanity in a heartbeat if that’s what it took. Anyway, Amy does well in what we’re taught in elementary school and says “No!” to peer (¿?) pressure and doesn’t give up in trying to save her precious, one-and-only Baby. Good for you, main character.

What I didn’t like: 

– Amy being dumb at Fort Black.
Basically Fort Black is a “men own women” kind of world where women are claimed. Yeah I get that Amy doesn’t want to be owned by someone but girl if you’re trying survive, you play by the rules. Why the hell would you openly disagree with the guy who’s trying to help you in front of a bunch of bloodthirsty criminals?? Why does this guy even put up with you.

– Amy being dumb at Fort Black part 2.
Yo man if you’re tryna get rid of someone, do it right. (Especially if the guy excels at killing young girls.) Meet Tank, whom the reader is constantly told likes to kill innocent young girls and is always trying to get at Amy. Obviously you’d try to get rid of him asap right? Amy has other plans though, and every time he comes back and she does something it always ends with him COMING BACK.
“I freeze in panicked shock. ‘You-you’re dead,’ I say, disbelieving.
‘Not just yet, cupcake,’ Tank growls, lurching toward me.”
(Probably the fifth time of “Hey, Tanks is gone,” and “Tanks is here?!”)

– What is this love triangle?
It doesn’t even get resolved. Honestly I cared nothing for either of the love interests. More importantly, Amy didn’t think it was worth her time to tell the rejected guy about her feelings and who she chose. It was kinda funny though, reading that when he looked at her she chose to IGNORE him instead of talk about it.
“‘All right, Amy,” Jacks says. “Thanks. I… I can’t wait to see you.’
There’s a silence in the room. Rice gives me another look, and I feel my face go hot… We click off. I still ignore Rice’s questioning gaze.”
Talk about a killer rejection.

– Open-ended ending.
They always seem so dissatisfying to me, but this one was like “yeah I don’t wanna write more so here ya go.” Also, everything was very very forced and rushed. The brainwashing of Baby really lasted for a couple of chapters or so. If you’re going to add some neat plot device like make it work man. It was kinda wasted in that situation.

– Cliché villain that reveals his diabolical plans in the last 50 pages or so like man give me a break this is a book about the zombie apocalypse and this is the best excuse you could give? Go home.

Recommended for:
People who read the first one, liked it, and have some free time on their hands.
If you haven’t read In the After then go read that and see what you think before taking this one up. (Trust me, you wouldn’t understand much if you jump in.)

Rating: 2.5/5

2 thoughts on “Demitria Lunetta – In the End (In the After #2)

  1. Olivia says:

    This sounds like a decent book but like you didn’t like the continuation as much as the first book. I don’t like the sound of an open ending, so that sort of puts me off a bit. I do like closure at the end of my series. And love triangles can be okay if they are executed well!

    • sourbamboo says:

      Ooh I’m like you, I like closure in a series. Stay away from this book if you’re not looking for an open ending haha. I agree, with the love triangle part, but I feel like in this book the author just forgot about the love interest from the first book until the very end. Not very romantic. ^^;

Leave a Reply

